We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican making japanese food just wont work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Koji's Sushi and Shabu Shabu

Koji's Sushi and Shabu Shabu
6800 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)
(323) 871-0200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,574 of 8,555 restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central L.A
1 review
“Mexican making japanese food just wont work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

U go in a japanese restaurant and u expect decent service. U wont find it here. Food is well price $40 with a beer. I got a stomach ache after the meal. I have been to japan and this is no comparison to the food there. There is a reason why this place is so quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    17
    17
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houilles, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As a French, I've tasted several American food restaurant. I've been disapointed, excepted at Koji's.

This is not American of French food, but it is the best I've found. Not fat, not sugared, not flavoured ... just tasty, simple ... and cheap !

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great place to have diner after the long walk in Hollywood blvd. It is nice, clean and good service in addition to the lovely food. Sushi lovers will be happy trying their varieties as for us we couldn't stop ordering the delicious sushi rolls in different kinds.
Friendly staff & reasonable value ... Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you love good quality sushi; you'll love this place. Clean, quick service, and very friendly wait staff.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great experience, cook your own!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Prior to our visit the restaurant staff were slated (not the food) but they have obviously taken note and pulled out the stops. We were made to feel welcome at the desk, promptly seated and our waiter patiently guided us 4 novices through the process of cooking our own fabulous food at the table. Great value for money.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's Sushi and Shabu Shabu also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Koji's Sushi and Shabu Shabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koji's Sushi and Shabu Shabu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.