We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Morrison

The Morrison
3179 Los Feliz Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90039
(323) 667-1839
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Morrison is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,264 of 8,581 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The Morrison is a simple, upscale restaurant redefining the idea of the local pub - offering a vast selection of artisinal draught and bottled beers from around the world as well as an emerging list of cocktails.
USA
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Good stuff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I really liked this place alot. Really well-put-together gastropub-type atmosphere. Clean and modern looking aesthetic.

The beer choices are fantastic, and during Happy Hour you great this amazing selection for $5...all the ones on tap at least! That is a super deal considering some of the excellent craft choices.

Food is really good as well. Really good! High quality for sure. Unfortunately, the blonde haired waitress we had was very snarly, smug and unfriendly. She also took a very long time to move things along with the meal. Our food took a long time to get to us and by the time it got there it was cool to warm. Fries served at that temperature are not my cup of tea. When we asked her if she minded bringing us some hot fries, she rolled her eyes at us and seemed really put out. We didn't ask to do the same with the burgers, which were the same temp as well. We dealt with it. She was unfriendly when I asked for water even though my glass had been empty for over 30 minutes. I am not going to let her rudeness cloud my interest in returning though. Everyone else was very nice. Just try and avoid her if you are about to be brought to her table/section.

Definitely worth your time and money to come to Morrison!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I came here on a Saturday for brunch with some friends. We had a couple dogs so opted for the patio. I had the vegetable frittata which was pretty good. It comes with creme fraiche which adds some extra flavor but I preferred some extra spice so I added hot sauce to it and it was perfect. It came with a side salad which was also very fresh and perfectly dressed. All in all, had a good time here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Truly NOT worth it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not a good value. Not even a fair value. And, not well executed.

Stopped by Saturday night for a drink and snack. Ordered as a beverage "Blood From A Stone". Supposed to be Irish Whiskey (undetectable), chocolate bitters (also undetectable), and fresh blood orange juice. What I got had the flavor of HiC, overly sweet.

Also ordered "hand cut twice fries". Assumed by the name that "twice fries" meant twice fried, e.g. crispy. No. Sorry, but you get better done fries at McDonalds.

P.S. Despite the fact that the fries needed to be... fried, they still made it to our table before the drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cinco de mayo at the morrison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Daniel and I joined Nic, Rebeca , Annett, and Nancy for a great may 5th celebration. The place was busy and decorated beautifully. The ladies all received mini fascinator syle sombreros, the men faux moustaches and beads. The staff were in full swing and kept us supplied with great drink specials , and the brunch style menu was excellent. Kudos to Mark the owner and Brian for making it a day to remember , I am still savouring the bread pudding thanks Brian see you soon Gerry

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Move Over Tam O'Shanter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Move over Tam O'Shanter! There's a new Scotch-Irish Pub in town and it's right across the street! After another disappointing St. Patrick's Day at the Tam (insisted by my tradition-minded mother), we couldn't help notice the eye-appealing Morrison recently-opened across the street. Billed as a Scottish gastropub, the Morrison is an upscale restaurant , the creation of Charles Lew, the owner of Stout hailing from the Highlands. We stopped in for Sunday Brunch yesterday (partly to avoid the long lines at the over-subscribed restaurants on Hillhurst Avenue). What a liked most about the place is the New York sexy black and chrome interior, which might come off as dark and claustrophobic, were it not for the floor-to-ceiling doors that open onto Los Feliz Boulevard and the open seating arrangement. I opted for the cod and chips, which were lightly battered and flavorful; some of the other offerings including a variety of Scottish eats including scotch egg with venison sausage, salmon offered with treacle blini in a trio of pate, smoked, and cured with Scotch, corned beef, and a ham-laced "rarebit" sandwich.
The Morrison, located at 3179 Los Feliz Blvd. Atwater Village; 323-467-7227.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Morrison also viewed

 

Been to The Morrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morrison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.