We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Outlet Restaurant and Market

Fisherman's Outlet Restaurant and Market
529 S Central Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90013-1714 (Central L.A)
(213) 627-7231
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #564 of 8,660 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Finally!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I really love fish. A simple, fresh, charbroiled filet can make me very happy. That's why I was so thrilled with Fisherman's Outlet. No frills, nothing buried in a sauce, no pretension. Just good, simply prepared fish. They have deep fried options as well.

My husband and I ventured over on a Saturday afternoon. After reading reviews we had prepared ourselves for a wait - but the line was short and we breezed through. To be honest, I NEEDED a bit of a wait just so I could study the vast menu choices and make my decision. I ordered the black tiger shrimp charbroiled with the garlic butter. Quite good. My husband had the deep fried sampler with catfish strips, shrimp and a fat crab cake that I sampled and it was excellent.

We're both looking forward to our next visit - which can't come soon enough for me!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

"He" has been going to this place for years ... but just last week, I had my first experience. And it IS an experience ... but so worth it. Busy, busy, busy ... and the guys who take your order on the fish side of the restaurant make it even louder. Imagine 'cheeseburger, cheeseburger, cheeseburger' as 'fish, fish, fish', but 100 times louder! It all adds to the fun and the ambience ... really.
We opted for tuna salad from the quieter side .. and it was served up quickly with a smile. Three large scoops of tuna (make that fresh albacore!) salad on a bed of lettuce ... two tiny celery sticks ... dressing ... and some packaged bread sticks ... and that was it .... and it was wonderful!!!!
Folks move quickly in and out ... we found a table with no problem.
Now, for those of you who are looking at the address and are wondering .... yes, it is in the industrial part of town ... but it is very safe ... and even has security. Even has a parking lot!
Try it ... you will like it ... and you, too, will want to return soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“authentic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Long lines at lunch hour well worth the time spent. Generous portions and prices have gone up over the years but still a bargain for the quality meal and experience here. Nice outdoor seating and amazing food. This place has atmosphere indeed and the crowds here validate just that. Just go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS SEAFOOD EXPERIENCE AT GREAT PRICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

It was a surprise to meet this restaurant at LA downtown. You won't meet luxury but you will be satisfied when taste this qualified seafood at very good prices. My favorite, fried scalopes & shrimps. My family were very satisfied with the tilapia filets.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Downtown LA Luncheon Landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Fisherman’s Outlet, whose motto is “Gourmet food at Affordable Prices” is an downtown LA landmark, which went into business in 1961. Adjacent to the wholesale food-refrigerated storage area of industrial downtown, it’s a fish market next to a counter-service restaurant with a roof-only covering for (mostly) concrete tables and chairs, and a parking lot in the back. The menu at the counter can be roughly divided into FRIED and CHARBOILED with chowder, seafood cocktails and a few salads tossed to round things out. There are daily specials, usually under $12. The choice of fish is impressive and, if grilled, is served with garlic butter, cajun or teriyaki sauce and french fries or rice and coleslaw. Seafood is limited to shrimp, scallops calamari and crab. Keeping things simple means everything is fresh-cooked quickly andthe place can do quite a volume. Customers can grab lunch, stop by the seafood market and pick up a (much larger) choice of fresh fish or seafood at much better prices than grocery chains and go home to cook for family and friends.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Outlet Restaurant and Market also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Outlet Restaurant and Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Outlet Restaurant and Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.