We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dinah's Family Restaurant

Dinah's Family Restaurant
6521 S Sepulveda Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-1508
310-645-0456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,079 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

breakfast can be pricey, the dinner specials are hit or miss. Friday is good. Lots of parking. Can be crowded. Eclectic design is cool, a nice 50's throwback.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    37
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The absolute best Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Dinahs is a Westchester Landmark. It's been there since the 1950s (!!) and it still gets crowded. Pancakes are spectacular and their Fried Chicken is World Famous. It wouldn't have lasted this long if it wasn't great. Portions are large and the service is great. Try the German or Dutch pancake (huge!). I grew up nearby and still go two or three times a year when we visit relatives.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Waffles and Chicken Family Diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We eat the waffles and the fried chicken. The waffle stays crispy for a long time. We keep coming back for the waffles. Quick and efficient service. Food is average but it's a diner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Any one can go to a chain restaurant. Be different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Dinah's is that kind of place filled with locals. The waitstaff knows the patrons, and it feels kinda like small town diner. The reason to go, however, is for the fried chicken. If you are going to eat fried chicken, eat it here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles Area
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Rather Strange Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I used to come to Dinah's as a kid. What a treat! So, we were in the neighborhood and decided to try it... like 40 years later! It has a strange mix of customers which was entertaining for people watching. And the food was what we expected... diner food, complete with a complimentary dinner roll and a piece of banana bread. We both had the fried chicken, of course. I had the Cole slaw, which is really good (made with pineapple!) and we had to try the onion rings and french fries (ick). Oh well, we had fun and the service was very pleasant in a diner sort of way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinah's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dinah's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinah's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.