We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food, Beer & Ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wurstkuche

Wurstkuche
625 Lincoln Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice)
(213) 687-4444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 8,891 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Venice
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Beer & Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our first visit to this restaurant in February was terrific. It was on a Saturday night and there was a fun party-like atmosphere. The only less than perfect thing was that it was so loud in the dining room that it was hard to have a conversation, but we still had a great time. This evening we went for an earlier Sunday meal and it was still terrific and...we were able to easily talk with our friends! The beer selection is amazing, and as you enter the restaurant you are greeted by what I would call a "beer sommelier". He/she helps you choose the beer that might pair well with what you're eating. You can sample those you are considering. Very fun! The sausage choices include classics such as "Bratwurst" & "Bockwurst", gourmet selections such as "Kielbasa" and "Chicken Apples & Spices"...and then there are the Exotic items! I had the "Rabbit Veal & Pork Seasoned with White Wine". It was delicious. My friends tried the "Rattlesnake & Rabbit with Jalapeno Peppers" and the "Crocodile & Pork, Andouille". All were fantastic! I highly recommend this restaurant. It's an eating adventure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, Ca
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Suasage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My hubby and I went here the other day. The ordering area is tiny but the staff is friendly and efficient also we got there just ahead of the crowd so that’s a plus too. The sausages are amazing we tried the mango jalapeno chicken and turkey the rattlesnake and rabbit and the crocodile and pork all the meats were flavorful and served on fresh baked rolls. They come with a choice of two toppings sauerkraut spicy or sweet peppers and caramelized onions tried them all and they are good. The Belgium fries were not very good they weren’t crispy and the dipping sauces were just ok The dining room is communal seating so it can be awkward if you have a small group but I’d definitely give this place a try Great sausages

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“GREAT DOGS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a concept. homemade brauts, great buns, the grilled onions were outstanding. we each had a different dog and all were terrific, note that you can get them without buns, the porch outside was neat

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place has some very unusual sausages to try out (alligator or rattlesnake, anybody?). But, don't worry, they have regular ones, too (bratwurst, hot italian and even vegetarian). It's also a great place for beer. They have quite a good selection from Germany and Belgium. The people there are quite knowledgeable about the beer and will even give you a taste to help you decide. You can ask them about sausage and beer pairings. We were there for lunch and it wasn't crowded at all. But, I image it gets quite crowded at night. If you aren't into sausages and beer, this isn't your restaurant. Otherwise, you'll have a great time. The atmosphere is casual/trendy. But, the prices are more trendy than casual.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wurstkuche also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Wurstkuche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wurstkuche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.