We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salt plate was amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamashiro

Yamashiro
1999 N Sycamore Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90068
+1 323-466-5125
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Yamashiro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 8,891 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Californian, Sushi, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Franklin Avenue
Transit: Metro Red Line to Hollywood & Highland. Walk west down Hollywood Blvd turn right on Orange and cross at the light on Franklin. Once you cross at the light go left and turn right at sycamore going up the hill. It is a very steep hill so walking in dress shoes or in the dark are not recommended. We suggest calling a cab at the bottom of the hill.
Description: Yamashiro - translated to "mountain palace" - broke ground in 1911 and was completed in 1914 as a residence for the Bernheimer brothers. Housing a priceless collection of Asian treasures, the building was designed as a replica of a palace located in the mountains near Kyoto, Japan. During the "Golden Age" of Hollywood, Yamashiro served as the ultra-exclusive hang-out for the "Club of the Four Hundred": the era's most famous and influential stars and movie moguls. The structure and its grounds served as a boy's military school and later apartments before being acquired in 1948 by the Thomas O. Glover, who discovered the beauty beneath the disrepair and refurbished the space. Currently owned by Thomas Y. Glover, Yamashiro is still flourishing over 60 years later as an Asian-inspired Los Angeles institution.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Salt plate was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this restaurant, great views of Los Angeles and delicious food. Sushi was delicious but the game changer was the hot salt plate, it's a must try for any steak lover! Portions were filling but definitely on the pricey side! Don't forget to try the doughnuts if you manage to keep room for dessert!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Yes, the Himalayan Salt Plate with American Wagyu is certainly an unique dish you won't find anywhere else! And saving room for the Strawberry Preserve-filled Doughnuts is a must. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    143
    61
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great views from amazing restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Get there and enjoy the sunset and stunning views across LA. A historic Japanese-styled building is a treat in itself. Service great, food good. Above average cost, but to be expected given the setting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for visiting all the way from the UK and writing about it! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Before my trip to the States I must have looked at over a hundred restaurants in Los Angeles as we wanted to go somewhere special for our first night in LA. I came across Yamashiro and thought the views looked amazing and the food sounded perfect too. We had a table booked for 7 but got there for about 6.15 so that we could enjoy a few drinks first in the bar. It was very quiet when we got there but it meant we could get a nice table by the window with a view of downtown LA - the views are amazing! I enjoyed a few cocktails - one was sangria and then I had a lychee martini which was very good! I had requested a table for our meal that had a view and I was very happy to get one! Me & my partner shared a starter - we tried the crispy chicken which was very tasty. For main I had the yuzo-avocado prawns & scallops which was brilliant and my partner had the asian ribs which he was unable to finish as the portion was huge! We also enjoyed a bottle of wine which was also nice. I would definitely recommend visiting Yamashiro as the building and views are beautiful and the food is also great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for selecting Yamashiro as the special location restaurant for your first night in LA. So glad to hear we lived up to the expectations - in food, drinks, and view - that you anticipated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best steak in the USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a beautiful dinner up her. My 15 year old daughter particularly liked her steak. Whatever they'd done with it, she said it was the best she's ever had, and believe me, she's had a lot!
Pricey yes, but good food, good wine and stunning views made it a very memorable evening

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Yes, we'd have to agree the steaks up here are best! Thank you for taking in Yamashiro on your trip to LA and penning a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Night of Romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

From stepping away from the valet and starting up the steps, this dinner date was a delight. The building itself is a marvel that must be seen. The hostesses were friendly and gracious. We were seated in a quiet corner with expansive views of the sparkling Hollywood night. We dined lightly, primarily on small plates of sushi, and everything was delicious, especially the Forbidden Rice Roll.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamashiroLA, Public Relations Manager at Yamashiro, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Sean B,

Thanks for writing a review based on your romantic Yamashiro evening. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamashiro also viewed

 

Been to Yamashiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamashiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.