We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed dining experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of M Grill

M Grill
3832 Wilshire Blvd. #202, Los Angeles, CA 90010 (Central L.A)
+1 213-389-2770
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 8,891 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: Brazilian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Western
Transit: Purple Line - Wilshire and Western
Description: M Grill is an authentic Brazilian churrasco style BBQ, with a sophisticated ambiance. One that welcomes you with warm cheese-filled rolls, full bar, hot and cold buffet items, including traditional Brazilian favorites and premium meats grilled over an open fire grill.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Mixed dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went there on a Wednesday night. Parking is not an issue here despite being in the city. Great interior decor ... awesome display of wine bottles in the wall. Tables comfortably spaced. The place itself has a great ambiance.

The salad buffet in minimal compared to other places with the same theme but the ingredients were fresh and variety was adequate.

The cheese bread balls were average and not as addictive as at other places.

As far as the meats go, the variety was very good. However, we found most of the meats on the night we went too salty and some were cooked perfectly while others were overcooked.

The pineapple offering was unique with the sugary coating and it was a great signature dish.

I actually liked the lower key service where the staff doesn't overwhelm with constant meats but we found that if we liked a specific variety, then it was best to ask for it rather than wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fogo de what? M-azing Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've been to Fogo de chau, in Beverly Hills, and Vegas. I've also been to Greenfield in Long Beach, and Espetus in San Francisco and San Mateo, and Pampas in Palo Alto, and I have to say that I was most impressed with M Grill in Los Angeles.

Located upstairs in a nondescript K-town building, I didn't know what to expect and thought that I would just find a Brazilian BBQ wannabe, among the plethora of cheaper k-bbq options in this area of Los Angeles. Thankfully, I was completely wrong, and very impressed with what M Grill had to offer.

Each of the meats they offered (cuts of beef, chicken, lamb, sausage) were delicious, and prepared perfectly. For those at the table who thought that the rarish to medium-rare meat was on the pink side, they went out of the way to ensure that everything would be cooked further if desired. At one point, the meats kept flowing endlessly and piling up on the our plates, and, unlike other places I've been, not all the meats tasted very similar. Each had a distinct flavor, and my favorites were the top sirloin, and the garlic beef. Make sure you try some of their pineapple with cinnamon. It is delicious.

The salad bar was not as extensive as Fogo de Chao, but really, I wasn't looking for salad, I was looking for meat. The salad bar did have the typical salad items, as well as a great pineapple/basil salad. I was impressed with the freshness and frequency that items were refilled.

The restaurant interior was very high class, with large wine racks filling the walls, and a nice bar with beautiful calla lilies flanking each side of the bar. Once you get in, you wouldn't even realize you were in k-town! Prices are as expected for Brazilian BBQ in LA - a bit lower than in Beverly Hills, but by no means a deal in comparison the k-bbq places for meat at less than half the price.

As a bonus, the servers knew how to say each of the meats names in korean, so non-english speaking folks in the area wouldn't be out of place! Overall, I was very impressed with M Grill and will definitely come back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“An Excellent Place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Thank You for a great dinner service. This is one place I will definitely come back. Quality of the meat was excellent and service was A plus.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The ambiance is classy yet casual. Food is great and wine list is extensive. Cons would be that the caparinhas are too sweet and its a bit pricey. Pro- food is awesome and you have to try the flan!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Better than Fogo for Brazillian BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have been to Fogo and I LOVE M Grill !! This place just remodeled and it bigger and better than before. If you are looking for great atmosphere and value, Mgrill is better. It is less expensive than Fogo.

Now, in terms of taste. Mgrill blow Fogo out of the water. The meats at Mgrill have so much more flavor than Fogo. The Picano has the right amount of seasoning and taste. The chicken was not dry. The skin was crisp and meat was tender and juicy. I took my Brazillian friend to MGrill and he even thought the meats were better than Fogo.

Now, I know people will say that the salad bar is underwhelming at Mgrill, but come on people! You go to Brazillian BBQ for the meats not the Salad Bar. BTW, the remodeling change the salad bar issue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Grill also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to M Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.