We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipper shrimp yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yang Chow

Yang Chow
819 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2309 (Central L.A)
(213) 625-0811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 8,891 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Slipper shrimp yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A must is the slippery shrimp . Other dish are good but not as memorable. Service is slow but vibe of place is fun

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    51
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Slippery shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Look around the restaurant and you will see slippery shrimp on almost every table for good reason-absolutely delicious!
The orange chicken was great,the crispy beef a little blander than remembered.Vegetable chow mien noodles very tasty.Room busy,a bit noisy but food worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hot and Ready”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pulled into parking lot in Chinatown and Yelped for a good choice for dinner. Hands down, this restaurant had the most yelp comments....... 704, with average of 4 Stars....so my husband and I headed over there. It was the only restaurant in this area of Chinatown with people waiting inside and out for a table (6:30pm, Friday ). Three rooms of tables were full, but we lucked out because they had a table for two, and all of the other parties were three or more...so got seated right away. Choices for food were typical and the service was prompt. Waiters were dressed neatly in White shirts and were polite and friendly. The place was clean, owned by same family for 30ish years we were told. Our Hot & Sour soup was steaming hot and delicious.....heavy on the white pepper......but thus the "hot" and sour. Also ordered fish fillet (Sole) with Black Bean Sauce, pea pods and water chestnuts. The fish fillet pieces were lightly battered and fried, and I would have preferred steamed...but still enjoyed it, Although the sauce was thickened a lot, it was very flavorful and complimented the dish well. The other entree we tried was the shredded beef with mushrooms and carrots. This was cooked in a brown sauce, but I don't recall the type. It was tasty and went well with the other entree we had. The portions of food served were generous and priced as you would expect in Chinatown .......affordable ($$). My only disappointment was that the food came out too quickly. The two dishes came out before we finished savoring the soup...which is too fast for me. My husband guessed it when he said "I bet they'll bring the check before we finish eating"......and he was right. All in all....I would return here again if in this area and try more dishes...with a request for slower service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Slippery Shrimp Unsurpassed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A classic LA Chinese treat - slippery shrimp. Try it with the dry fired string beans and Tangerine Beef.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Slippery Shrimp and spciy szechwan wonton soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Slippery shrimp - order 2 platters because it is unbelievably delicious - so it the picy Szechwan wonton soup - don't take it to go, only eat there since the noodles get soggy if you order it to go

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang Chow also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Yang Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yang Chow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.