We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Off Vine

Off Vine
6263 Leland Way, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Hollywood)
(323) 962-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Off Vine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 7,958 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Californian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Cross street: Sunset & Vine
Transit: Hollywood and Argyle. At the W Hotel. Across the street from the Pantage Theatre
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Charming Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Talk about charming, ambiance, service, delicious food and a delightful experience! You must find the darling little restaurant called OFF VINE - a perfect name because it is!!!! Just off Vine in Hollywood, CA. I never new it was there. Nestled and tucked away we were so surprised when there it was - a darling little cottage converted into a charming spot to dine and get away from the busy city. The service was fantastic. Never had to ask for a water refill. Every want was anticipated And a great menuMy pecan breaded chicken sauteed with a pear rosemary sauce was divine and fork tender. I cannot say enough about this lovely experience other than GO! And did I mention - Mondays the menu offers lower prices!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    57
    18
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL - Great Food, Nice Surroundings and 1/2 Price !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were delighted when friends recommended Off-Vine, where self-parking across the street was easy ($5 unlimited time) and the location so convenient - a few hundred yards from Sunset and Vine. We had not realised that the food is outstanding, the service friendly and caring and on a Monday (even Memorial Day!) all the main courses are half price! I chose $12 Ribs - excellent - my wife the Filet steak - and the $12 raspberry souffle was big enough to share.The whole experience memorable. Mondays in LA are spoken for forever now. (full menus accessible from this page)
We were not surprised to see among the awards a Trip Advisor Plaque on the wall.
Another point of interest was a newsclip telling how, following a major fire in 2009, the regular customers laid on a benefit and raised $250,000 to get the place reopened by buying advance gift certificates. This is a place that any local, or visitor, would love and appreciate.
A bonus as well as theatre proximity is proximity to Amoeba - perhaps the best used record and video store on the Planet and a regular 'must' for us on any LA trip.
The Brunch menu looks exciting value too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had brunch here - four of us. The Bloody Mary or Mimosa choice was really good. All of the food was excellent, no complaints from any of us. The restaurant itself is so cozy, but don't sit upstairs, make sure you sit somewhere downstairs in the main part. We've only had brunch here so that is was we are reviewing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner before Pantages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful 1900's bungalow just off Sunset. Plenty of valet parking options close by. Loved the smell of jasmine as you entered under arbor. Very charming, lots of spring flowers in vases, fire in the fireplace! Very attentive staff

Braised short ribs divine. Flat iron steak nothing too remarkable. Blackened shrimp cocktail delightful, as well as the Off Vine salad. Don't forget the chocolate soufflé. A bit pricey but I would most definitely visit again.

Reservation was for 5:30. We arrived a bit early but were seated right away. Made it to Pantages for 7:30 curtain call with time to spare

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Brunch was yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've been here for dinner, but this time I went with a cousin for brunch. I had the creamy, yummy Eggs Benedict; my cousin had a very interesting and tasty quinoa salad in a red bell pepper. We sat out in the garden in the sunshine; the waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly, and we had quite a lovely meal on a Saturday afternoon before the matinee at the Pantages. Try this place - you'll be happy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off Vine also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Off Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.