We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really has deteriorated over the years - service and food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Pavilion - CLOSED

Empress Pavilion
988 N Hill St Suite 201, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Central L.A)
213-617-9898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Agoura Hills, California
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Really has deteriorated over the years - service and food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we first came to LA back in 1978, this WAS the place to come for dimsum. Service, while not always the best in Chinese restaurants back then, was decent here. With the growth of Monterey Park and other "Chinatowns" in the greater LA area, we started coming to Empress Pavilion less and less, and actually stopped around 1990, then tried it again a few times around 1997, and quit for good after that. We were invited to a banquet, with about 200-300 people, and more as a social thing, came to Empress Pavilion.
Food is ... decent; nothing outstanding, but at least not bad.
Service was atrocious, and even considering that it was a banquet and servers are busy. They were rude, IF they could understand what you were trying to ask. You ask for something, such as a clean plate or a bowl of white rice, they were very abrupt with you, didn't bring it out or brought it out much much MUCH later. Or they would outright tell you very rudely "Not part of banquet" although we saw some tables with the item we were asking for.
Best thing about Empress Pavilion? They validate parking, and is huge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Typical good dim sum place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a traditional dim sum place in Chinatown. It has pretty much most of the typical dim sum offerings. The place is filled with Chinese and people and those that know about authentic Chinese food. Service is swift and professional in keeping with traditional Chinese service. The quality if the dim sum is about a "B". It is good but a bit couse and heavy. Overall it is authentic and solid. LA Chinatown as the advantage of having plenty of reasonably priced parking. It is a delight to stroll around and look at fun stuff. There is a lot of junk but some are very nice if you know what you are doing. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“Empress Chinatown in Bamboo Plaza ~ Good DimSum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If it were not for finding 'Empress Pavilion' in the Bamboo Plaza, our short stay in Chinatown LA would have been a total disappointment. We were hoping to find a good dim-sum restaurant after checking out of our hotel before catching a train @ Union Station. The restaurant is very large and appears to be the happening place for Chinese festivities. They serve dim-sum from 8 AM until 3:00 PM. The servers were gracious and didn't ignore us because we weren't Chinese and offered us all of the delicacies from their rolling carts. There were many varieties of dim-sum and it was reasonably priced, well prepared, and delicious. As for the rest of the area around Chinatown, it left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“wanted to like the food.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant is definitely resting on past laurels. We went there for a banquet of about 50 people (small by Asian standards).

The food was good, but nothing shined. It was standard Cantonese food that you would get in any major American city. It came out quickly and all tables were served at the same time, which is important for a banquet.

I was surprised by how bony the sliced duck was and also the fried fish on top of the gailan gave me hives. I only get hives when the fish is absolutely fresh, (which is why I no longer buy sushi at Trader Joes). Everyone else was fine but the hives made me realize in about 2 hours that the fish was old. It tasted OK.

Note to manager - shampoo the carpets, please.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere but so so dim sum!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I am a huge dim sum fan, everywhere I go, I always look out for dim sum. It has been a long time since I have been I am in LA and it is before my yelping time. Found in Yelp that this place got fairly good review, and it is in the middle of Chinatown. So I went for it. It is very Hong Kong like. The dim sum are pushed out by the ladies in the trolley. For the dim sum novice, this is what you do: You see what you like, and you pick what you like. When you first sit down, the waiter would give you a card, which the trolley lady would put a stamp to it, the waiter will total up all you ate when you ask for your bill. For me, the food was only just so so. It is no way near as good as most places in New York, or London in England or of course Hong Kong and China. The portion size is the largest I have seen in America. The service is friendly and good but the quality of the dim sum really needs a lots of work.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empress Pavilion also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.