We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Local favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philippe the Original

Philippe the Original
1001 N Alameda St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-1803 (Central L.A)
(213) 628-3781
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 8,659 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Classic Local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My dad brought us here over 40 years ago and it's a family favorite with my kids too. Classic French dip sandwiches, must add their spicy mustard, and old fashioned potato salad and macaroni salad. Their custard and tapioca are nostalgic too. Brings back great memories of growing up in LA.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    219
    78
    24
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LA at its (old) best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is an LA institution. The bread, meat and dip is to die for! The sides are fabulous, too! In a city that is way too status conscious, Philippe is the great equalizer, as the construction worker and the Hollywood mogul (or at wannabe) sit next to each other. Don't be intimidated when you walk in; just as someone who looks like a regular about how to order, or ask one of the too-friendly-for-LA ladies behind the counter for help. Better to go before 11:30 or after 1:00 as it gets really crowded (they have two parking lots). You can hit Olivera Street, and look inside Union Station -- one of the great Art Deco palaces still standing -- after your meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Classic L.A. Dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good, cheap eats at this local L.A. institution across the street from Union Station. I love the sawdust on the floor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm a food snob. I'll just get that out of the way immediately.

Saw this on Man vs Food a long time back and have been bugging to visit every single time we head to LA to visit the rents. We weren't lucky enough to stop until now - always had something pressing that we had to get to. This time I was INSISTENT. We weren't on a schedule.

Lines are LONG. Not a biggie - I've waited in line for 1/2 hour to 45 minutes for a cheesesteak in Philly. If the food is good, I'll wait happily.

Everyone in line was friendly. Locals offering advice on what to order and how to order it. You better know what you want when you get up front - lots of people to help, cash only.

Got a beef sandwich, double dipped (as advised from folks in line), potato salad and lemonade. Potato salad was AWESOME. Just like my mom used to make and I would have taken a boatload home with me if I thought we would mow through it before it expired. French dip was GOOD. Only thing i would have changed about it would be to make the meat more rare but honestly...if you're producing that much for that many people, I doubt it can happen. Ask for extra au jus on it. Yes, it's going to be sloppy but it's worth the mess and the napkins you're going to use.

It was GOOD and I'll be back.

oh and follow the advice of the previous posters about the mustard...it's delicious but use sparingly or you're going to lose your sense of smell.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Historically good place and the sandwich is ok too!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I was working in downtown LA for one day and had to stop by the historic Philippe's for a French dip. It was a good sandwich and even better lemonade on a hot day. The SPICY mustard was also very tasty. Park across the street. It is CASH only at the deli counter, while they take credit cards at their souvenir stand.....good figure. Definitely worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philippe the Original also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Philippe the Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philippe the Original, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.