We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Greek in LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna

Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna
2771 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90006 (Central L.A)
(323) 737-2970
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 7,983 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“GREAT Greek in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

while leaving in LA it was one of our favorite places to eat, very affordable, great service by a 3rd generation owner family and GREAT Greek food!!! from the olives, to the sovlaki to deserts, pure good food!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mmmm Mmmm Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I have been searching for a good Greed restaurant for a long time. We usually only go to the Mad Greek on our way to Las Vegas. We almost drove 100 miles to fill our craving, but decided to take a chance on Paps Cristo's ~ What an amazing surpise! We ordered the Gyro plate and wow wow wow wow... it was supurb! The ambiance simple and they made us feel like we were a part of their family, a new home away from home. Live music was just the right touch. Not only did we save a 200 mile round trip but now we have a new place to dine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Greek food in LA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

All of the dishes here are delicious! My favorites are the dolmas, falafel, & spanakatopia- awesome! And the baklava is heavenly!!! The staff here are welcoming and the owner is very gracious & makes sure you are satisfied. There is valet parking as the parking is scarce. Overall, the best Greek food I've had in LA!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and a Belly Dancer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Seriously, what else do you need in a Greek Restaurant. We did the Thursday night banquet, price was exceptionally good as was the food. Wine tasting and a sampling of great food. You are seated in a group which isn't what we would normally do but in this case it was perfect. Great food and great chatting. The Belly Dancer was not only very good but played very well to all the guests. If you like Greek food don't hesitate to go, as well as a fantastic deli that has everything you can imagine to create your own Greek dishes. Stop reading and just Go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thursday Night Supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just got home from having the most fun and wonderful dinner here ! For 25 bucks plus tax and tip you get a wine tasting of 2 whites and 2 reds, you get assorted appetizers and pita, follow that with salad and dinner of lamb and chicken and potatoes and string beans and complete your meal with baklava and thick sweet greek coffee. And a beautiful and talented belly dancer ! It's all served family style for the Thursday night dinner and we sat with 6 people we'd never met and were friends with by the evening's end. You HAVE to go !!! And the staff - the best !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.