We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm Mmmm Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna

Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna
2771 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90006 (Central L.A)
(323) 737-2970
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 8,581 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Baldwin Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mmmm Mmmm Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I have been searching for a good Greed restaurant for a long time. We usually only go to the Mad Greek on our way to Las Vegas. We almost drove 100 miles to fill our craving, but decided to take a chance on Paps Cristo's ~ What an amazing surpise! We ordered the Gyro plate and wow wow wow wow... it was supurb! The ambiance simple and they made us feel like we were a part of their family, a new home away from home. Live music was just the right touch. Not only did we save a 200 mile round trip but now we have a new place to dine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Greek food in LA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

All of the dishes here are delicious! My favorites are the dolmas, falafel, & spanakatopia- awesome! And the baklava is heavenly!!! The staff here are welcoming and the owner is very gracious & makes sure you are satisfied. There is valet parking as the parking is scarce. Overall, the best Greek food I've had in LA!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and a Belly Dancer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Seriously, what else do you need in a Greek Restaurant. We did the Thursday night banquet, price was exceptionally good as was the food. Wine tasting and a sampling of great food. You are seated in a group which isn't what we would normally do but in this case it was perfect. Great food and great chatting. The Belly Dancer was not only very good but played very well to all the guests. If you like Greek food don't hesitate to go, as well as a fantastic deli that has everything you can imagine to create your own Greek dishes. Stop reading and just Go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thursday Night Supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just got home from having the most fun and wonderful dinner here ! For 25 bucks plus tax and tip you get a wine tasting of 2 whites and 2 reds, you get assorted appetizers and pita, follow that with salad and dinner of lamb and chicken and potatoes and string beans and complete your meal with baklava and thick sweet greek coffee. And a beautiful and talented belly dancer ! It's all served family style for the Thursday night dinner and we sat with 6 people we'd never met and were friends with by the evening's end. You HAVE to go !!! And the staff - the best !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had a late lunch here with family recently. The food and atmosphere were fantastic. Expect to stand in line to order your food, grab your number and try to find a table (even though a Sunday afternoon, it was quick to get a table).
The Moussaka was prepared the way I had it in Greece - in an individual dish vs. casserole style. It was perfect. My child's kabobs were amazing and the plate was cleaned. Greek salad, pita, baked feta, and amazing Gyro meat - of which, I have truly never had better. Valet parking is a plus for the area and the in-restaurant market is a great way to take home the flavor. Have fun with it and take it for what it is -- amazing food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Cristo's Catering & Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.