We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Food, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spumoni Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spumoni Restaurant
14533 Ventura Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91403-3772 (South San Fernando Valley)
818-981-7218
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,886 of 7,958 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quality Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a restaurant where you are assured you will get a good, reasonably priced meal, with great service. I was a big fan of the Spumoni on Montanta, and so delighted when they moved to my neighborhood in Brentwood. While I not longer live nearby (relocated), I do still return. If you are looking for a great romantic spot, this is not your place. It is, however, quiet enough to enjoy conversation, and I must also tell you, it is TINY.

All pastas are good. Pizza is great, and I had the chicken cacciatore, and loved it. My only complaint, is that i did not like the chicken breasts flattened.

This is a great family place, or just a great place to grab a quick bite. I believe there is no alcohol served and I am unsure if it is BYOB. Call ahead. the santa monica location does serve liquor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“mexican italian food, and no spice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Coming from Rhode Island, where great italian food is everywhere,, I did not have big expectations for italian food in LA. What I did not expect was to find that this place was entirely staffed by hispanics. The kitchen is open to the dining area, so yes, I can definitely say, entirely! Now I've got no ethnic issues, only culinary ones.

The food was bland. I had eggplant parm. and the eggplant was very fresh and portion great, but the sauce was tasteless. There was a jumbo size riggatoni as my side pasta, coated with... bland pink sauce. My daughter had an alfredo dish, that was greasy and tasteless, but a huge plateful of it. Apparently, the chef has never met garlic or oregano.

The best thing was the fresh baked breads and olive tampanade that were served when we were seated. Wait-staff were mechanical, not at all personable, and the place is very loud and crowded. I think they were busy because the highly recommended italian restaurant across the street, Vicentes, was closed... it was Monday. That's what real italians do, close on mondays..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, decor just needs to be updated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The food is great. My favorite Italian food restaurant in the valley. The food is always fresh and flavorful and they have multiple dishes of gnocchi (potato pasta) which most so-called italian restaurants don't even offer on the menu.
They do deliver as well. If you eat at the restaurant the service is interesting. Since it is a family owned and run business everyone helps each table. So the uncle may take your order then the daughter will bring over the drinks and appetizers and the owner will bring you your meal so tipping is interesting. But they all watch your drinks and bread basket so nothing runs low the whole time.
The prices are very reasonable. And dessert - tiramisu comes with most meals.
Overall a hidden gem in the valley.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A good find on a very busy street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A simple, family-run Italian restaurant with very good food. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. The portions are not the biggest, but they are just right. It's a small restaurant sitting among many other stores and restaurants there on Ventura Blvd, so it might be easy to miss. But, me and my friends were definitely glad to have walked in there. Good atmosphere to enjoy a good meal and chat with friends. I look forward to going back the next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“the food was mediocre, but the service was amazing. the owner was super friendly and gave us free wine. it's a shame...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

the food was mediocre, but the service was amazing. the owner was super friendly and gave us free wine. it's a shame the food isn't better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spumoni Restaurant also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Spumoni Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spumoni Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.