We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fred 62

Fred 62
1850 N Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90027-4215 (Central L.A)
(323) 667-0062
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #981 of 8,658 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So so restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is good, most of the vine and hype is a about being being in the heart of Los Feliz, looking at the different types of people passing by.

The food is good not great, I recommend the juicy Lucy burger and fruits or the fish and chips. The wait staff are excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    36
    21
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Decent food, a really golden waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I went here for an early morning breakfast, and got the scrambled eggs, turkey sausage and hash-browns. The turkey sausage was frankly gross, badly spiced and tasted like very low quality meat. The eggs and hashbrowns were decent, but on balance, I felt like the breakfast was overpriced for what it was. That is when the waiter noticed that I had eaten just the tiniest corner of the hash browns, and to my shock asked, not rhetorically, if the turkey sausage wasn't very good. He was attentive in a serious way, in part because he cared enough to have been mentioning exactly this item from the menu as not having been eaten by almost any customer. He deserves a medal, because very few staff at diners care enough to try to actively improve the place. When you go, ASK the waitstaff what they think about your order!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hit or miss.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to Fred 62 for a couple of years now. Service is always hit or miss. Food is ok if not mediocre. I usually come here for the huba huba pancake. It's basically pancake with banana and peanut butter. I think it was 8$. It's an ok place. If only they would have some consistency in their staff.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ok food with terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Man oh man do the staff at fred 62 seem to be having a bad day. We started off inconveniencing them by ordering some coffees, then inconveniencing them even more by ordering breakfast. After the long wait of our food to arrive it was slapped onto the table and by then after the Terrible service and average looking food we had already lost our appetites.
Hopefully the staff were having a really bad day and their service has improved infact we couldn't even bring ourselves to tip them

Pros
Lots of tables outside in the sun and always available
Fred 62 - good catchy name

Cons
Food was ok
Service was terrible

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Cool neighborhood venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The restaurant has a slight arty / alternate feel to it which was nice. Had lunch op the patio. Menu has some original items. Food was of good quality and price was reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred 62 also viewed

 

Been to Fred 62? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred 62, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.