We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asanebo

Asanebo
11941 Ventura Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91604-2607 (Universal City Area)
(818) 760-3348
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 8,658 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Universal City Area
2 reviews
“Amazing selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

...but price feels like it rides more on it's fame...
I would definitely recommend to fine Japanese cusine lovers with deep pockets.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Dined here on a evening on our recent trip to Los Angeles. The best Sushis that I had so far. Very good staff. Service very good and had a really great evening

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Odd location, in a tiny strip mall--but well worth it. Ordered the miso clam soup-delicious! Also ordered a variety of sushi rolls. Every single one was spot on and very fresh. A bit on the pricey side, but worth every bite. Can't go wrong with this place-GO!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calabasas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Best....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

There are probably a hundred Japanese restaurants (including a half dozen of LA's best) between my home in the West Valley and Asanebo. My wife and I happily blow by all of them for dinner at Asanebo. Strictly speaking, I'm not sure it's a Japanese restaurant. We've had meals here where we never saw a grain of rice. Cooked dishes may include fruit and other ingredients that aren't typical of Japanese cuisine (at least IME). To be sure, the straight up Japanese menu items are wonderful, but the real gems here are quirky house specialties. I'd call it Japanese fusion. I'd also call it great.

Prices are certainly high, but not remarkable relative to other top LA tables.

Bottom Line: This is probably my favorite restaurant in LA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you're ready to explore and try something different, delicious, and daring, Asanebo is the place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Asanebo is a place for daring individuals willing and ready to try dishes out of the box. The fish is very fresh and delicious! I truly enjoyed the experience, although I wouldn't make it a frequent dinner spot because of the prices. It is very pricey! Still, the experience is one of a kind and I can't wait to go again! I highly recommend it, but want you to be ware of the prices. Dinner for two can be $400 and up, which is surprising for a valley sushi spot. Nonetheless, this place was an incredible experience. If money is no object, this is a MUST!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asanebo also viewed

 

Been to Asanebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asanebo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.