We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asanebo

Asanebo
11941 Ventura Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91604-2607 (Universal City Area)
(818) 760-3348
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 8,561 restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Universal City Area
calabasas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

There are probably a hundred Japanese restaurants (including a half dozen of LA's best) between my home in the West Valley and Asanebo. My wife and I happily blow by all of them for dinner at Asanebo. Strictly speaking, I'm not sure it's a Japanese restaurant. We've had meals here where we never saw a grain of rice. Cooked dishes may include fruit and other ingredients that aren't typical of Japanese cuisine (at least IME). To be sure, the straight up Japanese menu items are wonderful, but the real gems here are quirky house specialties. I'd call it Japanese fusion. I'd also call it great.

Prices are certainly high, but not remarkable relative to other top LA tables.

Bottom Line: This is probably my favorite restaurant in LA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    29
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you're ready to explore and try something different, delicious, and daring, Asanebo is the place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Asanebo is a place for daring individuals willing and ready to try dishes out of the box. The fish is very fresh and delicious! I truly enjoyed the experience, although I wouldn't make it a frequent dinner spot because of the prices. It is very pricey! Still, the experience is one of a kind and I can't wait to go again! I highly recommend it, but want you to be ware of the prices. Dinner for two can be $400 and up, which is surprising for a valley sushi spot. Nonetheless, this place was an incredible experience. If money is no object, this is a MUST!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi I've ever had, but pricey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I tried this place on a whim, and it was the best random choice ever made. The sushi was as fresh as can be imagined. The only negatives are the price, portion size, and parking. Besides that, it's the finest sushi you can get.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Michelin agrees, and has awarded this fantastic restaurant a Michelin star for the past few years. Hidden away in a Studio City strip mall, you can't judge this book by its cover. The freshest, most delicious sushi and sashimi, as well as fantastic cooked dishes, make Asanebo my favorite sushi restaurant in Southern California. My mouth waters in anticipation if my next meal there. Although it's pricey, it's more than worth the extra cost to get the best!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The real deal in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After going to almost all the big name sushi places in LA and many others abroad nothing quite adds up like Asanebo. The food is simply a notch higher than everywhere else and every time I venture away from this restaurant I'm left feeling disappointed.

They somehow manage to stay traditional yet creative without going over the top and the service is always friendly and on point. It also does't hurt that there is usually a good smattering of very famous faces stilling at arms length.

This is not just a sushi place so don't just stick to classic sushi and sashimi dishes. Their cooked food and little off beat dishes like home made sesame tofu are equally good.

If you want the quintessential LA dining experience (celebrity, strip mall, hole in the wall) with amazing Japanese food then this spot is well worth checking out. Just remember to check your bank account before you go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asanebo also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA

Been to Asanebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asanebo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.