We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Greek Restaurant and Taverna

The Great Greek Restaurant and Taverna
13362 Ventura Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91423-3939 (Universal City Area)
818-905-5250
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #519 of 8,646 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Universal City Area
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lively restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Small restaurant with live music & dancing waiters! We were here for dinner - excellent spanokopita & avgolemono soup. Cicken souvlaki & keftethes (Greek meatballs) were delicious as well. They serve the dolma or dolmathes warm & we did not like them since we much prefer them cold. Our waiter was somewhat inattentive & so busy dancing he forgot the Greek salad & then promptly forgot to take it off our bill until we pointed it out. For 3 of us with no alcoholic drinks the bill was $75. A fun place but with the music & dancing it can get very noisy. Parking is on the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“OOOPA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

4th of July 2013---not very full, BUT, very good.
Avgolemono soup & spanakopita to start---GF had Shrimp a la Greque I had rack of baby lamb just simply good. Retsina for me, GF took a house Cab reasonable price-good.

Espresso & Galaktobur dessert-----yummy
Andreas server --good
Good is good-ain't brain surgery

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Terrific Greek Food in the Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had a great lunch at The Great Greek. The avgolemolo soup was some of the best I've had anywhere, lots of chicken & vegetables and not over salted. The Greek salad was really light and fresh and full of the traditional goodies. The gyros was moist, well seasoned and full of meat and ripe tomatoes. The lamb souvlaki was tender and delicious. The fresh bread and olive oil was also very simple and very very good.

The service was attentive and just right.

All in all, an outstanding meal and a great reason to return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley, Idaho
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Greek is fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The atmosphere, service and food were all top notch. We were in Santorini last year for our anniversary and L.A. this year, so decided to try this Greek restaurant. It was a superb.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Greek food at its finest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Began with babaganoish and hummus. The pita bread was hot and fresh. The lamb kabobs with rice and vegetables was very tasty. The chicken kabobs were also very well made. The blue Mediterranean salad was great. My salmon with steamed vegetables was equally as good. I would recommend this restaurant when you are in Sherman Oaks, California.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Greek Restaurant and Taverna also viewed

 

Been to The Great Greek Restaurant and Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Greek Restaurant and Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.