We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice Vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hama Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hama Sushi
213 Windward Ave, Venice, Los Angeles, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #515 of 8,558 restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Venice Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our family enjoyed a quick meal here of some delicious sashimi, sushi and other modern twists on Japanese cuisine whilst on holiday here.
The setting is nothing flashy but the food is fantastic. It had a great Venice Beach vibe and I can see why it is an institution - I would definitely go back if we had the chance.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    12
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Was in LA on business and took a few extra days to relax at the beach. Found this place totally by accident. Food was outstanding and staff was super friendly. We were in town for only 3 nights. Had dinner there out first and ended up back there for our third as well. I would highly recommend if you love sushi. Fantastic find!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hip, buzzy, trendy yet laid back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Second time here for me and still super impressed. Noisy atmosphere but in a good way. Hip. Laid back. Local eatery with of course sushi at its heart. Has a chilled out beach-side ambience but with West Hollywood-quality cuisine. Also, they experiment a lot with their specials. I'm not sure all those specials work out but it keeps this establishment fresh and Inventive. Healthy portions. Staff are charming / friendly but not intrusive. A must-try. You can just roll up but best book as it gets busy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A MUST visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm lucky (or unlucky depending on how you look at it considering I live half a globe away) to have visited the west coast of the USA twice in a very short period of time, and each time I've been in the vicinity, I make it a point to eat at Hama.

Their food is just incredible. It's a sushi / sashimi only restaurant with minimal seating. If I recall, the bar table can seat about 12 or so and there maybe 2 tables for 4 each. Everything is made in front of you.

If you're looking for a spectacle, california roll or bento, go elsewhere. Just to give you an extent of how far I'd go here, on my 2nd visit I was on a trip to Vegas and had an off-day between conferences and I rented a car for a day to go to L.A just to eat there. Yes it was that good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hama Sushi on the Venice Circle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hama Sushi is a delight. Fresh & delicious sushi in an eclectic and electric atmosphere. There are two rooms, the covered patio that has high ceilings, large screen surf movies and ever-changing art is fun and brash. The back room is quieter and more intimate. The service is efficient and friendly, the fish fresh - the owner makes sure the fish is bought daily - and tasty. Who could ask for more? By the way, they have a fun happy hour.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hama Sushi also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Hama Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hama Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.