We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tummy full of yummy at Buddha's Belly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha's Belly

Buddha's Belly
7475 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90036 (Central L.A)
(323) 931-8588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,081 of 8,644 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Transit: The MTA 14 line stops right in front of Buddha"s Belly at Beverly & Gardner
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A tummy full of yummy at Buddha's Belly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Buddha's Belly should be on the tip of every foodie's tongue. Alas it is one of those restaurants you love at first bite, but somehow forget about it. We stumbled in the other night, hungry after attending a few events in Los Angeles. It was as good as ever, maybe even better.

The place is pseudo funky, just tables with paper napkins. But the service is excellent and the food is amazing thanks to Chef Kevin Luzande formerly of John Sedlar's Rivera and Playa where he was Chef de Cuisine for three years.

There's an extensive Asian fusian menu with choices such as chicken pot stickers, Korean fried tofu, Buddha's chicken salad, Thai curry salad, seaweed salad, assorted soups (the spinach miso ramen is yummy), noodles and rice and what they call "large plates" of black cod, ahi tuna burger, chili shrimp and more. Desserts are good, too, try the chocolate mousse timbale or chocolate fondue.
Prices are very reasonable. Only thing lacking is a good wine list. There's only house white and red and they are so-so. Hope they fix this.
The crowd is eclectic, but on the youngish side, people who like good, honest food and have a yen for Asian flavors.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Acceptable Lunch, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were looking for some place for lunch after the LA Marathon. We stumbled upon this place and went in and luckily got a table right away. Our appetizers and drinks were wonderful. Service was terrific, but our main dishes seemed just okay. I would give it another try. Maybe it's just what we orderd.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for some Asian fare right off the Santa Monica Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stopped here after a stroll on the pier.
Very good food.
Service was good as well.

If you need some Asian cuisine in Santa Monica, try this place out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always a good meal at a good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Buddha's Belly is a go to favorite of mine. Party that's because it's just a block from my house, but it's also because it's always good. I always start with the Albacore and Avocado spring roll. The Miso black Cod is always good, and I loved the blue lake green beans, but I think they may have taken them off the menu. It's causal dining at it's best. Nice staff too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner, Loved it, Back Again for Sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ok, the parking is a little of a nightmare, but thanks to the valet it was no problem. We entered around 8:30 PM on a Friday night and there was no wait.

Our server (tall bald gentlemen) was excellent. He was friendly and knew the menu well. His recommendation of the Red Curry Scallop Fried Rice. It was amazing. I devoured the large serving as if I had not eaten in weeks.

The dish was covered in small sweet bay scallops and fresh corn, eggs, spinach, fresh basil, scallions and jasmine rice with a spicy red curry sauce. It was amazing. It was way to much to eat but I could have eaten more.

My guest ate the Thai Grilled Salmon with spinach, jalapeño and egg fried rice with a nice creamy (not too heavy) thai basil sauce. Loved it.

Great Asian Beer Selection too

It was a wonderful experience and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha's Belly also viewed

 

Been to Buddha's Belly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha's Belly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.