We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sidewalk Cafe

Sidewalk Cafe
1401 Ocean Front Walk, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3605 (Venice / Beach Areas)
310-399-5547
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #504 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Venice / Beach Areas
Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The fish and chips were good as was the service. But we were expecting to see the beach and couldn't - it's too far back and there's a big grassy knoll. Instead we watched a steady stream of people walk past. We'd never been to Venice Beach before and won't go again. Parking is a nightmare, it's too dirty, noisy, and chaotic. Just not our cup of tea at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    97
    40
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch on Venice Beach Board Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Me and my wife were a little apprehensive about eating in Venice Beach, but the Sidewalk Café was packed so we figured it must be decent. Am I glad we stopped there the food was excellent ( I had the Reuben and my wife had a shrimp dish) and the location was great, the entertainers were right in front of us (2 guys doing tricks on bicycles).If you are in Venice Beach and looking for a place to eat lunch, I highly recommend the Side Walk Café.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a View of Venice beach Boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Directly on the beach walkway , this place is the best place to people watch. Sunday brunch with a bloody is great but food is good anytime. Highly recommended. If you are going on weekends get there kind of early to snag a table. They open early if you wan to have breakfast here. Tables fill up fast! Don't be a in a rush. It is always packed and service can be slow. Rent a bike in Venice and bike a few miles of the 40+ mile bike path that runs right through Venice along the beach ( north to Santa Monica, South all the way to Torrance).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food and great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is good and service is fast. You have a front row seat to watch the scene on the sidewalk. Visit the Small World Books next door. It is an independent store with good recommendations of books.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Perfect for where it is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you want an authentic burger while looking out at the whacky world of Venice Beach from a shaded casual beachside table, then the Sidewalk Cafe is the perfect place to be.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidewalk Cafe also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Sidewalk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidewalk Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.