We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you will fall in lover all over again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Hama

Restaurant Hama
213 Windward Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3764 (Venice / Beach Areas)
310-396-8783
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Hama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #429 of 8,565 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Venice / Beach Areas
Cross street: Main St
Description: Hama Sushi is a landmark restaurant located in the heart of Venice. Serving the freshest, most authentic sushi creations and French inspired fusion cuisine since 1979. Our eclectic clientele, lively atmosphere, innovative world class weekly specials and knowledgably and friendly staff make for an unforgettable dining experience.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“you will fall in lover all over again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Florence Roll Shrimp tempura and cucumber topped with seared albacore, avocado, drizzled in cilantro Serrano dressing.... This is what I had suggested by my waiter. It was full of flavor. The was a great balance of not to salty not spicy ( which is what i thought when i was the small peppers) and the cilantro which at times thin to over power every thing on the dish just flowed the the roll. yes I did fall in love with sushi again ( even though the roll I had was cooked)....lol

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Venice Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our family enjoyed a quick meal here of some delicious sashimi, sushi and other modern twists on Japanese cuisine whilst on holiday here.
The setting is nothing flashy but the food is fantastic. It had a great Venice Beach vibe and I can see why it is an institution - I would definitely go back if we had the chance.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Was in LA on business and took a few extra days to relax at the beach. Found this place totally by accident. Food was outstanding and staff was super friendly. We were in town for only 3 nights. Had dinner there out first and ended up back there for our third as well. I would highly recommend if you love sushi. Fantastic find!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Sushi. Nice ambience. Definitely go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The sushi that we had here was AMAZING. We had a bit of a tough time finding it but it was worth the search in the dark. Would prob get a cab next time as had to walk past some unsavoury Venice Beach characters. The sushi chefs were really friendly which is nice. There was alot of different things on the menu so had lots of choice. Would definitely go back. Very nice clean place. Very busy as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hip, buzzy, trendy yet laid back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Second time here for me and still super impressed. Noisy atmosphere but in a good way. Hip. Laid back. Local eatery with of course sushi at its heart. Has a chilled out beach-side ambience but with West Hollywood-quality cuisine. Also, they experiment a lot with their specials. I'm not sure all those specials work out but it keeps this establishment fresh and Inventive. Healthy portions. Staff are charming / friendly but not intrusive. A must-try. You can just roll up but best book as it gets busy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Hama also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Restaurant Hama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Hama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.