We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, but expensive sushis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Roku

Sushi Roku
8445 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4124 (Central L.A)
323-655-6767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Roku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #289 of 7,962 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: La Cienga Blvd.
Schlieren, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicious, but expensive sushis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ambiance: The Restaurant is very dark, which we are not so fond of.
Service: Excelllent
Food: Excellent, but pricey Sushi - within Walking distance to the garden bed and Breakfast.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After the other meal across the road we werent too sure about trying another Jap restaurant... but we were both craving for sashimi so we gave Sushi Roku a try. The setting was beautiful and the food was great! Very nice Japanese + fusion dishes... we enjoyed it very much!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great happy hour spot !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visited this restaurant many times for dinner and it never disappoints. Recently, I stopped by for happy hour. The menu is small but covers a great selection of both hot and cold dishes starting at just $3 for a hand roll. The food is delicious with a lot of fish on offer .Albacore, salmon, tuna, shrimp and some vegetarian rolls. My favourite is the spicy tuna on crispy rice dish and the miso glazed eggplant.
At these sort of prices can try a number of dishes to share and also have some cocktails which are $5 during happy hour. They have great martini's and exotic sake blend cocktails which amazing!
Make sure you stop by, you will be glad you did!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of our favorites.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We always visit Sushi Roku when we go to LA and have never been disappointed. The food is delicious, the presentation is creative, and the fish is fresh. Selections and recommendations from the bar have never been disappointing, and we have sampled some unique drinks. Following advice from friends, we left room for dessert this time, and were delighted with the two that we sampled. Both were rich, delicate, and definitely worth leaving room for. All of the chefs seem to make an extra effort to make sure that the food is the best that it can be. As in previous visits, we were not disappointed this time around.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favorite LA Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Sushi Roku over the holidays and had an amazing time. Although neither of us had ever tried a sushi restaurant before, we loved the idea of trying something new while in LA. We were not disappointed! The food was unbelievably good, the service was awesome and we found our favorite LA restaurant. The filet mignon wrapped asparagus was delicious and highly recommended as well as the seared tuna tataki. Loved the ambiance, a great romantic date destination and will be sure to return one day!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Roku also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Roku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Roku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.