We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Perfect Presentation, But Only B grade Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Getty Center Restaurant

Getty Center Restaurant
1200 Getty Center Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90049-1657 (Westside)
(310) 440-6810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Getty Center Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 8,552 restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Westside
Cross street: Sepulveda Blvd
Transit: Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great View, Perfect Presentation, But Only B grade Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Maybe we hit it on a bad day in the kitchen. We ate lunch here on our visit to the Getty Center.
We ordered two appetizers, the crab cake and heirloom tomato salad and shared. Presentation was perfect. The crab cake was OK, but lacked anything special. It was B crab cake, not outstanding. The tomato salad was nice, but the tomatoes could have been riper.

For entrees, I had the Bouillabaisse and my partner had the Sea Scallops. Both looked amazing i.e. great presentation, but the Bouillabaisse was too salty and the sea scallops were also too salty. My bias is that when a chef has to use so much salt, he is covering up the absence of other flavors that should be there but aren't. Also, my partner felt that for $28 he should have been given more than 2 sea scallops.

Would we go back? No.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    121
    61
    17
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The great castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Look down over your fifedom from this mountaintop majestic cathedral to art. Really, it is a great afternoon for the family with a parking fee the only admission cost. The collection improves steadily and the research facilities are incredible. Lunch or dinner on site adds to the day, and the views outside are also breathtaking.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We knew nothing about the Getty Centre, so where surprised to find ourselves transported up the mountain side, we had booked before arriving for a meal at lunch time. What a delight the food perfectly displayed , thought I was amused by Dungness crab cakes (not necular power staion but a place in northen California) be careful to ask if helpings are small or large. we caused confusion by giving a cash tip, nearly to many staff clean washrooms beautiful views over the valleys

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“As Wonderful as the View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lunch at the Getty was as much of a treat as the museum itself. Beautiful view table,
service outstanding, and the menu was varied and plentiful. We ordered two appetizers
and shared an outstanding scallop dish. Delicious bread and house made rosemary
crackers with a olive tapanade was placed on the table, and refilled when we asked. Wine list very good and we enjoyed a lovely sparkling wine and a good red wine.
Delicious homemade ice cream for dessert. We wanted to just linger all day at this
spot, but needed to get on to the rest of the museum. Five stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a disappointment, best to think twice!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I had been before & it had been nice, I was looking forward to it. But..it started with their unwillingness to open a nice bottle of wine that my friend had brought despite their having a limited wine menu. Not even a corkage fee that we were more than willing to pay? Never heard of this.
Then the bread came and it was stale.
My friend ordered the Halibut which was fresh and nice albeit a bit pricey.
I ordered the Ravioli with mushrooms, truffles and ricotta cheese. While it had nice flavors, it was overcooked, could barely cut into the ravioli? Won't return, too many good restaurants in Los Angeles.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Getty Center Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Getty Center Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Getty Center Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.