We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, attentive service, sensational view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Getty Center Restaurant

Getty Center Restaurant
1200 Getty Center Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90049-1657 (Westside)
(310) 440-6810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Getty Center Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 8,644 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Westside
Cross street: Sepulveda Blvd
Transit: Public Transit Stops - Getty Center Drive
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food, attentive service, sensational view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Like the rest of the Getty Centre, the restaurant is cool, quiet, impeccably finished and economically priced: we had the Sunday brunch menu and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the quirky banana bread with cranberry butter before the food arrived to the friendly, non intrusive service to the well priced napa valley Sauvignon blanc, we had a lovely, lovely lunch that perfectly complemented our visit to the Getty. Truly a quintessential LA experience for both the drop dead views and the serene, monumental architecture. Loved every aspect of it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    71
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Get Too The Getty Center Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I love going to the Getty because its close by and lots of great traveling installations, especially in the west wing. This past weekend I met my wife and her girl friend for lunch at the Getty. The food and wait staff can't be beat. The setting is breath taking and you leave with a satisfying taste in you mouth. The girls had the crab cakes and I had the duck confit. Both dishes were outstanding and my wife who doesn't care for duck loved her taste of it.
No reason not to go to this wonderful setting and enjoy a four star mean.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A perfect restaurant for the Getty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

There's a lot to do and see at The Getty, but if you want your dining experience to match the other attractions here, do try the Getty Center Restaurant.

We've eaten here many times; it's popular, especially around lunchtime, so getting reservations in advance (like, a day before) is a good idea. It's only open when the Getty's open, and not past about 2:30 PM; that is, lunch. Except on Saturday, when they're open until 9 PM. We've never had dinner there.

But, what a lunch! Last visit, we had Beef Carpaccio and Flat Bread appetizers, and Bouillabaisse and Braised Beef Short Ribs entrees. Naturally, we couldn't finish, and had dinner later from the left over bouillabaisse. All dishes were really good (we're foodies and were just in heaven here) and presented almost like a work of art (see pictures). Really nice sourdough bread to help sop up sauces. Wines by the glass seemed a bit pricey, so we passed them up, but saw other patrons with bottles.

The decor is fabulous, with about 270° of window views of the surrounding arroyos and mountains to the north and west. On a sunny day, it's very bright inside. Not noisy; relaxed. Service was knowledgeable, efficient, courteous and unobtrusive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Elegant museum meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had lunch with my 3 teens at 1PM on a Friday afternoon.

I reserved the day prior through Getty.edu. You may be able to get a table as a walk in but I would recommend making a reservation.

The dining room is beautiful with sage green velvet chairs, high ceilings, and a solid wall of glass along the west and north sides of the room. You look through a framework of Richard Meier's architecture to the green hills of Brentwood and further to the Pacific.

The crowd is a mix of museum-going tourists in casual clothes, attractive LA diners, and sophisticated museum professionals.

I have eaten at the restaurant numerous times and always enjoy it. I think there is no better way to spend a day than walking through the galleries, looking out at the expansive view of the city, and eating the Cobb salad.

Here is what we ordered:

We shared 2 orders of the flatbread. It is served with fig jam, prosciutto, arugula, pomegranate seeds, and goat cheese. The combination of green lettuce and red pomegranate made it a lovely holiday plate. We all loved it. The prosciutto was nice and lean.

The Cobb salad is a variation on the traditional with cranberries and a cider dressing. It has a little tang to it and it is served in a nice flying saucer-like bowl...not too big, not too small.

The cauliflower risotto was a really pretty dish but maybe too many onion tastes for my liking with scallions, onions, and leeks. My son enjoyed the steak but it was a modest sized portion with 3 strips; he could have eaten more.

Service is friendly.

Note: The downstairs cafeteria has good food but your day will feel special if you eat here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“excellent food - but attitude reigns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

You must make a reservation to enter here.
The getty has other less formal eating options but for the restaurant you book ahead.
A dragon lady will let you pass after a wait - and in no uncertain terms let you know what a priviledge it is for you to enter these hallowed halls. this was the only drawback here. We only saw one waiter ever smile and engage with the customers - and fortunately he served us, but all the rest seemed both hurried and condescending in their attitude towards customers. The room itself is otherwise light , airy and with stunning views of the center and the surroundings.
Now the food on the other hand is just wonderful - creative, full of colours and taste - and not overly expensive. Don't mis dessert - it rocks . We really enjoyed our meal here - attitudes excepted.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Getty Center Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Getty Center Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Getty Center Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.