We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spain in LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paella

La Paella
476 S San Vicente Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-4107 (Central L.A)
323-951-0745
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #653 of 7,958 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spain in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Wonderful retreat from the ordinary. Authentic cuisine and a very friendly staff. We even had a special visit from the owner. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone seeking wonderful tapas and traditional Spanish fare.

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“The Best Paella in Los Angeles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is a small family owned restaurant just outside Beverly Hills. It's traditional paella dishes prepared by a great family from Spain. In the 10+ years I have lived in California I didn't have a great paella dish until now. Once you enter this small family restaurant you feel as if you're in a restaurant in Spain, not Los Angeles. The ingredients are fresh an prepared to near perfection. They have an excellent assortment of tapas that are fun to share with others while enjoying their addictive sangria...and I usually hate sangria! If you have an appreciation for paella this place is a must!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Excellent service nice atmosphere but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We ordered a paella marinera which tasted pretty good though I can't say it's the best I have had in my life.
Service was excellent, well trained staff.
My only complaint was with the portion of the paella; too portion controlled. Though I must highlight that it was light indeed. Not greasy nor salty.
At every place I have had paella before in my life, and I'm 52, they bring enough paella to be able to repeat. That was not the case here. Perhaps, I have been spoiled by my previous experiences, which have been too many. I was left expecting my second plate.
Aside from that, it was reasonably priced considering the location.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Only place in Los Angeles for good, authentic paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Paella is deceptively hard to make well. Many restaurants in the offer claim to offer paella but a lot of it is just latin american chicken and rice. La Paella has the real deal. It's one of the only places in LA to get good, authentic paella. I'd put their paella up against some of the better houses in Spain (and I've eaten at the best of the real deal in Spain). Their tapas and other entrees, especially the fish cooked in salt, are very well made and authentic as well.

Some people may just not be into paella. You need to like rice to enjoy it. Spanish food is also very salty. If you don't like spanish food fine, but LA Paella makes spanish food done well. Many los angelenos order the sangria. It's a profit center for them, but no one in Spain orders sangria (it's for the tourist). Check out the spanish wine selection-- marked up for a profit but a very good selection.

Staff is friendly and efficient. Setting is clean, homey and nice, if uninspiring. Food is expensive, even considering what you get, but well worth it if you love spanish food. In fairness, there is no way to do spanish food on the cheap-- the good ingredients necessary are too expensive.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills
1 review
“Never Coming Back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

The place was horrible. There's barely any room to move around (very tight quarters). It was very hard to find parking. The portions are very small, the dishes are nothing special, and I still was hungry after leaving the place. Owner and waiters kept on coming by and trying to sell wine. The waiter kept on mooching for a bigger tip after 15% was given. Stay away from this place. It's a waste of time, money, and food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapaella, Owner at La Paella, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
For the people that have been to LA Paella is no need to say that what it's said here is not even close to what we do. It criticizes us with the intention to harm the business. I know what happened that day a year ago and it had nothing to do with the food nor pushing the sale or anything. I can give more detail for interested people at usalapaella@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paella also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to La Paella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.