We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THE" PLACE TO EAT IN SAN PEDRO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limani Taverna - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Limani Taverna
301 W 6th Street, Los Angeles, CA
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Center St
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“"THE" PLACE TO EAT IN SAN PEDRO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Over the years, we have eaten several times at the legendary Papadakis Greek Restaurant in San Pedro. The Papadakis family sold the restaurant some time ago and it's now called Limani Taverna in the same 6th & Center location. On our two most recent stays in San Pedro in 2013, we have eaten there and we can attest that the change in ownership hasn't affected the quality of the food, service or entertainment. If you love Greek food, you can't get more authentic than this. The staff is almost entirely Greek and of long-standing with the restaurant and their service is friendly and warm. To top off the dining experience, there is nightly entertainment by a guitarist and mandolin player and if you don't feel like dancing yourself, Dimitris the waiter will put on a display of Greek folk dancing that even Zorba the Greek would be proud.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

% Recommend
    2
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Last minute dinner as the kitchen was closing.. AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

well, we walked in at 9 pm, just as the kitchen had closed.. the owner told us he had a limited menu, and asked if we still wanted to stay.. we did and ARE SO glad we did!. I had the lamb shank and my husband had the Gyro plate along with a greek wine. BOTH meals were amazing.. and if this the quality you get at the end of the night! we are definately heading back for a prime time meal. the staff was attentive, friendly and had a great sense of humor!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Opa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I wasn't feeling well when I went to Limani Taverna, so the food didn't set well with me. The atmosphere and service, however, were wonderful. It's worth going just for the dancing waiters. Outstanding! Our appetizers were of mixed tastiness - the hummus and pita were great, the caiamari was great, the dolmas were a little bland for my taste. I had a gyro platter because I wasn't feeling well. It was ok, nothing special. One of my dinner companions had the lamb shanks, which he raved about, and which I would have gotten had I felt better, because it looked terrific. The place was packed with smiling people, which was a good sign. The music was authentic, without being intrusive. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's Greek To Me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The title was cliche I know, but I've never been to a real Greek restaurant before. I was impressed by the service we received with our order. We decided on take out as we had a sleeping child with us. During our brief wait for the food, the waiter seated us comfortably (with stroller) at a table at the front and brought us water. The food was GREAT. The cucumber sauce and salad were very flavorful and the baklava was sweet, gooey and delicious. I would have liked to try the pudding, but they were out of it, so the waiter added some baklava (at no extra cost) to make up for the disappointment. Lovely new and clean environment and can seat a lot of guests. All in all a good experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limani Taverna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limani Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.