We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yang Chow

Yang Chow
6443 Topanga Canyon Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91303-2621 (South San Fernando Valley)
(818) 347-2610
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,179 of 8,646 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Kent, Washington, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This came as a recommendation from a parking attendant. Tucked around the corner from our hotel. When we got there they were lined out the door. Hmm... gives the impression they must be pretty darn good. We got our food to go. I ordered 2 small soups, wonton and hot and sour, Chow Mein and Sweet & Sour Chicken. It was enough food for 6 people. The small soups were a quart each! It was some of the best food I've eaten and I'm a huge asian food fan! The staff were fun and took great care of us. They don't have a bar but we were able to have a beer in the lobby area while waiting for our food. Can't wait to go back. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated, based on Trip Advisor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by Yang Chow for the first time for dinner, even though we read the ratings on Trip Advisor, which were not glowing at all. We shared the slippery shrimp and the beef, broccoli and scallops with white rice. The service was good, the food came quickly and was served hot, which is something that I like. The food was way above average, with good healthy portions. If anything the prices might be 20% higher than other Chinese restaurants around the area, but the food was good. We would stop again if in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Hills, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good place for our ladies dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is one of the restaurants my friends and I keep coming back to. We get together once a month to visit and have dinner. This restaurant is always on the list. We order several dishes and share. The food is always good and reasonably priced.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The pictures on the wall let us know that Yang Chow has hosted many celebrities. The families eating in the restaurant told us that it is appreciated by Orientals. We were greeted at the table with pickled cabbage, a bit like cole slaw, but not chopped. We had lightly fried scallops with lemon-butter and mu shi pork with a very good hoisin sauce. It had a rich texture and flavor.

The service was polite and attentive. The decor was typical of Chinese restaurants in that there were Chinese paintings but the painting were not typical; they were very original and imaginative. Overall, the dining experience was very enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go for the slippey shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food overall was above average but not great, and it was not cheap. But the slippery shrimp are legendary and worth going for.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang Chow also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Yang Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yang Chow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.