We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“personal place in middle of the city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PodShare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added PodShare to your Saves list
PodShare
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   1617 Cosmo Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
1 review
“personal place in middle of the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived very late at night but they did their best to get things working for me! Very helpful and friendly people! Definitely recommend the place!
Although this is right downtown it has a really personal atmosphere!

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent one night there at it was a great experience. EIther u can be at the lounge talking to people or be by ursellf in ur spot with ur own TV. It was tidy clean and u´ll meet people from all over. Can recommend it.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for five nights over the Halloween weekend and had an incredible time! The atmosphere is super laid back and the place is very clean. The staff are extremely nice, open to chatting, and able to give advice on where to go and what to see. The location is PERFECT. Nestled in the Hollywood and Vine area, Podshare is accessible by bus, train, uber/lyft, and a great area to walk. The famous Hollywood and Highland is one short train stop away. The layout of Podshare is very futuristic and very comfortable. The pods each have a T.V., Roku, Netflix, Etc. and outlets to plug electronics in. My favorite part were the little extras PodShare threw in. For example, PodShare had straighteners, Hairdryers, a communal food area, cereal, chargers, computers, etc. At most places I've stayed, these extras would typically cost more. At PodShare, they are there for your use and are modern and a variety of choices (cereal wise as well).

I would recommend PodShare to anyone! This place is great for a solo traveler, a couple, or a group of friends looking to rent out the whole place. Good luck in your travels everyone and definitely don't miss out on PodShare!

Room Tip: All the pods are great! Don't forget to write your name in chalk above your bed so others know y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

just stayed one night for a layover. Very clean modern and stylish place. Staff were great. I was knackered so just chilled and read my book but felt very at home it's kind of like staying in a flat with young people. Would recommend!

Be warned the flyaway from LAX in evening runs very late. May be best to go to union station then get a train, according to locals! I waited over 2hrs.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Having visited Hollywood twice before, staying at another hostel a few blocks away, I wanted to try somewhere different and was won over by the positive reviews Podshare had on Tripadvisor.

Those positive reviews are absolutely justified. Everything from the booking process online (Google calendar invite), to the check-in email reminder which gives you explicitly detailed instructions on how to find them including a photo. I was greeted by Jackie who showed me around and made sure my stuff was okay while my pod was being made ready.

At a loose end on Halloween night I, along with 4-5 others, were invited by Elvina and Jackie to go Trick or Treating with them in Hollywood whilst making our way to West Hollywood for the annual carnival - making us all feel like one big group rather than simply 'paying customers'.

It's that community feeling that makes Podshare what it is - yes the Pods are great, the location is perfect and the price is pretty unbeatable - but with only 10 people staying at one time it breeds a communal atmosphere which comes from the staff that work there.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Hollywood, I can't recommend Podshare enough ... the other reviews don't lie!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 via mobile

So, here's the thing about PodShare off Hollywood Boulevard.

It's so well hidden, that not even the taxi driver knew where it was, dropped me off in the alley, and wished me the best of luck. However, Podshare is the building just up the hill from 1617 Cosmo Street, so no big deal. I actually thought that was one of it's advantages, that it blended in so well with the rest of the alley.

In future, grab the bus out of LAX to Union Station, get aboard the train to Vine, walk down the Hollywood walk of fame on the left hand side (heading west), and turn left after you see Chris Farley's star outside of the Comedy Club. PodShare is on the right side of the alley, after the painting on the double doors. Simple.

Now, PodShare is probably one of the tinest hostels / accommodations I've ever stayed in. There's reception, kitchen, computers, and then, the "pods", all in one room, with only a wall between the pods and reception seperating it all.

If you're not a fussy traveller and all you need is a roof over your head and a pillow for your bed, you've found the perfect place to spend the night. Also, they've got lockers for you to store your valuables, but bring your own lock.

There is only one community bathroom, but this isn't an issue. From memory, PodShare has a maximum of ten guests at a time, and most of them are sleeping off a long haul flight or running around Hollywood soaking in the sights, quite like I was.

The only issue that springs to mind is this. Security is a little too good. So good, that it even locked out the people that worked there. After 2:00am, the code to the door was no longer valid, so that may be an issue they need to work on, or you could just give yourself a curfew before midnight.

Otherwise, I will go back and stay there again (probably next year for Halloween).

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Why aren't there more podshares? I want at least one podshare in every country so I can travel the world and know there will always be an awesome place to stay.
The beds are super comfy, the tv with netflix is awesome, and you can have your privacy if you want. But seriously, podshare is about sharing. I stayed for only a couple of days but I met awesome people and had tons of laughs and fun times. I will definitely come back!
Guys, wine night is the best kind of night <3 I went and had all this awesome time in LA but when it was the end of the day I couldn't wait to get back to podshare and see all the cute faces of everyone. It seriously rocked <3

Room Tip: If you would like a little more privacy choose the top pods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PodShare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PodShare

Address: 1617 Cosmo Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — PodShare 1.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your PodShare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PodShare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.