We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, ambiance, drinks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Parish

The Parish
840 S. Spring ST, Los Angeles, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,401 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
474 reviews 474 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Good food, ambiance, drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place has great food, ambiance and drinks! It's a little pricey though. But all in all, our waiter was very knowledgeable and explained everything on the menu including the drinks to the T. I heard it's now closed which is sad. I hope it's just temporary and it will reopen soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was totally unexpected.
Amazing--fried artichokes, soft shell crab, fried olives, shrimp, chicken wings. We had several dishes. The only items, out of probably 12, that were just really good but not amazing, were the corn and rotisserie chicken. The drinks were like nothing we've ever had--so many flavors.
We were trying to decide between Drago's and Parrish. We only went with Parrish because it was more casual. It was a great choice and one of our favorite LA restaurants.
They do have a few outside tables, if you're lucky enough to reserve one. Also, big comfortable leather chairs inside. I can't say enough good things. Just amazing.
Forgot to mention the incredible--best I've ever had--bread pudding--knock ur socks off amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious, inventive food with wonderful service in downtown L.A. Charming and still very contemporary.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I'm not a knowledgable foodie but I dined with a few last night and we were all delighted. Very accessible and diverse menu but with great style and flavor. The wait staff was well informed, patient and attentive. It's clear that the kitchen staff pays great attention to detail. Kudos all the way around.

I'd love to go back the next time I visit.

It's worth noting that the restaurant is primarily on the second level. Don't let the casual first floor entryway/bar fool you. It's great upstairs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meh?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

ON the bright side. It was not "bad" as one friend had said of her previous experience. ON the other hand, she was right that the fried oysters in the poutine were soggy, which, I can see who that happens, but if you're gonna do it, find a way to make it work. However, the bone was awesome! Buut, bone marrow kinda can't be anything BUT awesome.

Overall, worth a trip, but not a long one..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hip and yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice small selection for breakfast, cool spot to stumble upon. Hipster lPortland like atmosphere in the middle of the city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parish also viewed

 

Been to The Parish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.