We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Dulce

Cafe Dulce
134 Japanese Village Plaza Mall, Los Angeles, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #364 of 8,553 restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Bakery
Description: Just opened cafe in Little Tokyo.
Restaurant details
Description: Just opened cafe in Little Tokyo.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very delicious coffee and bakery. They serve very interesting donuts such as bacon donut. I have tried a regular one, it was really good. Coffee us fantastic. The best part is to sit on the street and watch the people gather around enjoying uour coffeee. We had even saw an old lady in kimono:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“High quality baked goods here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Enjoyed trying the baked goods at Cafe Dulce and they are quite good. Try the Brick Toast, which the staff member described as "asian french toast." It was very good but I actually prefer the Sugar Toast at the Yamazaki bakery just across the arcade from Cafe Dulce. That is not to say anything bad about Cafe Dulce, it is only a matter of personal preference. If you are in Little Tokyo, give both a try and make up your own mind!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willows, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Baked goods from heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My daughter and I stumbled upon this cafe while staying in Little Tokyo. We went back several times and especially loved the brick toast!! It was fun to try new things and they were all so excellent. Great custom made coffee, too. All the baked goods were super and so fresh.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brick toast is ethereal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A MUST TRY if you love crispy-buttery treats. I prefer plain to matcha. You might miss this cafe in the Japanese Village but it offers excellent sandwiches, artisanal coffee drinks, and a small selection of bakery items, including their famous iced & bacon topped doughnuts. With this small menu, it means you can enjoy this cafe for breakfast , lunch or snack time! I've been here over a dozen times---- always great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Very Good Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Give me break a great donut with crispy bacon topping. OK don't eat it everyday but maybe every once in the while and at least on a visit to Little Toyko. The other offerings were equally well baked/cooked. Great coffee. Seating is very tough to get outside, but well worth the effort.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Dulce also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Dulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Dulce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.