We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Kitchen Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooks County

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cooks County
8009 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 8,599 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: On all the hot new restaurant lists in LA. Desparately want to review this place to help people who are headed there. Locivore, contemporary California.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our Kitchen Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Cook's County is our "go to" place when we want a great selection of very well prepared, creative "farm to table" food. Lunch, dinner or even the brunch on the weekend, this place offers one of the simply tastiest menus in the city, and all at a really good price point.

Chef Daniel continues to create fresh, bright and creative dishes that seem so simple in the preparation and yet they are all so complex. I've had his simple green salad and I still can't figure out how something so basic tastes so good.

I don't eat trout in restaurants; I DO eat trout when it's on the menu at Cook's County. Prepared on the grill, yet again it's simple and you just can't duplicate it at home. Delicious.

Everything on the menu (and, yes....I've had it all except the new dishes that are likely being planned and/or added "today,") is wonderful. Some people may be put off at a charge for bread. Secret: Order it and asked for it well grilled. It's a delight in and of itself!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh food with fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Last week came here for a little business trip and deiced to hit to a local restaurant. I have heard a lot about Cooks County from couple of local friends, so I called them and came here.

I was impressed with the decoration and the atmosphere was really enjoyable. My friends recommended fish sandwich So i ordered fish sandwich.

It took 10 min to serve 4 sandwich, I was impressed with the speed of the service.

The fish was well cooked and most importantly it was fresh and I can feel the fresh taste with every bite. I even packed 2 fish sandwich for my way back.
I will surely come again.

Great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“COOKS COUNTY CAPTURES A GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We’ve heard so much about Cooks County – so at the last minute, we joined some friends for dinner at this very trendy place. Everything about our meal was ‘over the top’ – well-prepared (as if we were the only ones the chef’s were cooking for); unique (avocado toast, spretzel, salted radishes as ‘snacks’ – one criticism, the snacks were quite pricy for the minuscule amount of food) tasty, fresh and distinctive (short ribs, halibut, striped bass and the pork chop) all prepared in a different and one-of-a kind approach. The deserts included something unlike what we had ever had from Strawberry Flummery, Rhubarb Roly Poly and a Caramel Coconut Bar. Our server knew her wines, and exhibited exceptional, and non-intrusive service for this culinary experience. We were never rushed, even though there was a line out front for people clamoring to get in. Cooks County was a wonderful (but expensive) night out. On the scale “A” to “F” – a “B+” for the entire meal and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The menu is always fresh and seasonal, with local, organic produce. There is a large array of wine available by the glass and the staff is always helpful in making choices. The menu always changes but in the past I have loved their seafood soup, a salad with sugar snap peas and a savory pancake from from chick pea flower. The desserts are quite good as well. Monday night features a pre fixe "home cooked" meal in addition to the regular menu. The brunch is one of the best in town with a menu that is balanced between breakfast and lunch items. The cinnamon sticky bun is an absolute indulgence.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fresh, Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cooks County may appear to have a small menu but everything on it is big on taste. Our party of five each tried something different;the duck, the fish, short ribs, flat iron steak, and the pork shank and all received rave reviews. If you love bread try their cast iron bread and spretzle. The crostoni was incredible as was the chicken liver crostini. The quality of the food comes through in every bite. We will return for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooks County also viewed

 

Been to Cooks County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooks County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.