We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Buy--Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilshire Crest Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wilshire Crest Hotel to your Saves list
Wilshire Crest Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6301 Orange Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
dallas, texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Buy--Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

My wife and I arrived after the continental breakfast had been served; however when we checked in, they put out the breakfast again!!! What a start. The staff was friendly and very attuned to our needs. The room was very spacious and well equipped (refrigerator, too).
Close to the Grove, Beverly Mall , Beverly Hills, and Cedar Sinai Hospital (which was the purpose of our trip). Cannot go wrong with this spot !!!! Highly recommended. Very homey feel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    115
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
93
76
55
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Location excellent, one block off of Wilshire on the ‘Miracle Mile’. Hotel was located in a residential neighborhood. This caused parking to be problematic. However, off street parking at bank’s parking lot across a busy street was available.

Within walking distance to LA County Museum of Art and La Brea Tar Pits. About 5 blocks south of the Farmer’s Market and The Grove shopping center.

This is an older hotel. Seems to have been an apartment building in it's former life. It is quaint and it does have an European feel; albeit a 2 star, 100 year old European hotel..
Floors were ‘squeaky’ & I could hear people in room above me walking.

Rooms were larger than the average hotel/motel. Room was clean and daily maid service excellent. Our bathroom seems to have been remodeled recently. Bright and clean. However, several spot lights in the room were out. Knob on the heater/AC unit was loose and the knob controlling the vent was missing.

Breakfast was true continental. Bagels, a few pastries, OJ and coffee. Not much compared the typical Hampton Inn/Holiday Inn Express fare. If you want a breakfast, walk 5 blocks to the Farmer’s Market for a REAL meal.

This is a great value hotel, given the area it is located. It is what it is advertised as –a good, clean hotel. You will get what you pay for, this is not a 4 star hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

This hotel calls itself "a small elegant European style hotel" but, believe me, there's nothing elegant or European about it. It's pretty much the equivalent of a Holiday Inn Express (even the "free" continental breakfast is similar), only older, shabbier, and uglier. If all you care about is a clean bed, a hot shower, and a decent selection of cable TV channels, it will suit your purposes fine. At $112/night, some might consider it a good value, given its location. But I've gotten better values at other L.A. hotels (e.g. $60 at the MUCH nicer Hyatt West Hollywood) by booking through Priceline.
Wendy Perrin


Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2006

I did not enjoy staying here. This was the first hotel I stayed at on a recent teen-tour trip to So. California and Hawaii. My room was on the second floor, and there was no elevator, so lugging by very heavy suitcase up the stairs was a real pain. The rooms are large, but old and smelly. The bathroom was tiny and plain. The shower was kind of gross. I mean, this hotel wasn't terrible, but it was just run down and clearly aimed at budget travellers.

The complimentary breakfast was absolutely dreadful. The bagels were soggy and the milk was not even cold, and the coffee had a foul taste to it.

If you are travelling on a budget, it satisfies basic needs, but for a vacation, LA has better hotels. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location--Right in Beverly Hills, close to good shopping
  • Disliked — Just about everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Unless you are on a budget, don't stay here. If you do stay here, eat breakfast somewhere else.
  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2006

I was looking for a small friendly hotel. A place where I would feel comfortable and get a good night stay. I had heard good thiongs about The Wilshire Crest from my friend and decided to give it a shot. I would never go to another hotel in L.A. again. The rooms were very spacious, The clerks were more than friendly. I was able to get in and out of my room very quickly. One can not ask for a better location. I truely felt that the rate was underpriced for the service I got.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

My Family and I had a wonderful time staying at the Wilshire crest Hotel. The rooms are large,the price is great and the staff is very helpful. We were walking distance to C.B.S.,The Grove, Beverly Center and Beverly Hills.I recommend this too anybody looking for a boutique Hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2005

We chose this Bed and Breakfast because we thought the description sounded fine, a quiet start, probably jet lagged, before quite a hectic trip. We were probably the first to have our room for some time, it was clean but very musty and unaired. Browns and greens of the old fashioned tones. The beds were of the type found in cheap motels in the 50's and 60's. Not too uncomfy if you like hard mattresses and lumpy pillows. The linen was changed after the first night. Bathroom modernised.

No tea/coffee maker. Please, in this day and age! A deserted and gloomy breakfast room with defrosted pastries and actually quite nice coffee.

Sorry, this was so disappointing. We were fortunately only a short walk from the Farmers Market for some proper food although the desk clerk didn't know that.

We should have gone to a proper hotel in the first place, because there is nothing worse than beginning a vacation wishing you had never gone away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilshire Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Crest Hotel

Address: 6301 Orange Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilshire Crest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wilshire Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilshire Crest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.