We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wilshire Crest Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wilshire Crest Hotel to your Saves list
Wilshire Crest Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6301 Orange Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Chula Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here mid January to see a concert at the El Rey and to visit LACMA. The manager was helpful dealing with the lack of parking in the evening. They give you the option of parking at a bank across the street, and they move your car for you before it opens. We used this twice and were glad to not have to get up early and deal with it or the street cleaning schedule. We had a first floor room and should have requested a second floor as the floor above us was creaky and we had trouble sleeping. The folks above us arrived late and left early each day and we couldn't sleep through it. The nearby stairwell didn't help either. The room was not the cleanest or most comfortable I've been in, but you get what you pay for. Breakfast was the usual continental fair and the dining area was quite large. If we were to visit the area again, I'd probably look around for another option.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    115
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
93
76
55
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Let me begin by staying I was not able to stay at the hotel. Unfortunately my child became very sick and I unexpectedly had to travel 2 hours back to San Diego. I called immediately upon hearing of my child's sudden illness and asked if the charge could be reversed. The manager told me that he has no control over the cancellation policy and that it was HotelGuides, the website I booked the room through, that would not make an exception. When I contacted HotelGuides they informed that this was not true and that they actually called the hotel to try to get Willshire Crest to make an exception in the case of a sick child. So the manager blatantly LIED to me. Plus he was rude over the phone. It says a lot about the credibility of a company when the manager lies and is unwilling to make an exception in these circumstances. It would have been nice if at least a partial reimbursement were offered. Very disappointing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasy35, Public Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Valued Potential Guest,
I appreciate your honestly in saying that you in fact "DID NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL." Believe me nobody intentionally lied to you, many reservations done through a third party can not be refunded. In any event, I am sorry to hear that your child got ill and hope that they are doing better. We do have a cancellation policy. In fact our policy is pretty lenient. I apologize that you felt you were not treated as you should have been but once you are within 24 hours of your arrival we no longer accept cancealltions unless we are able to sell the room for that night.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I have now stayed at the Wilshire Crest in LA three times! I have to say that they don't disappoint. Since our first visit they've treated us like family, and with our third visit, I slipped a few times when I said to my family "we have to stop at home before we go to...", home meaning the hotel...

The beds are super comfy, the linens soft, and the atmosphere really pleasant. The staff and management go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable.

The location is perfect; very central and with easy access to wherever you need to go.

Room Tip: We've taken the adjoining rooms every trip and have enjoyed being able to separate or join the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasy35, Public Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great eviw of out hotel. We always look forward to you and your family's visit here. I am so gald that after all these years your stay with us gets better and better. See you soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We walked to the Farmer's Market several times, and it was centrally located so easy to get different places in LA (if you have a car). Not the fanciest of hotels, but a clean and well run family run place that offers an excellent value, especially with the breakfast. We will definitely come back here when we visit LA again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I definitely wouldn't call this place elegant. It is in a perfect location. Parking is fairly easy. Rooms are minimalist,slightly dated, clean, spacious and a bit noisy. Breakfast is fairly good for a continental one. Shared area is nice. Staff is very nice. Fairly good value. I would return if I got the rooms 20 percent cheaper, as the area is perfect (you don't want to spend all day driving in LA).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I recently stayed 4 nights at the Wilshire Crest. Location worked well, it's on the Hop On, Hop off bus route, trips to downtown and Santa Monica weren't too bad, overall as good a location you can get in Los Angeles.
Bed was very good. Bathroom was ok, the shower controls were very difficult, and you either got very hot, very mild or cold, and not a lot in between. .
Loved the complimentary continental breakfast and wi-fi, some of the other LA hotels should take a page out of the Wilshire's playbook!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Friendly staff on arrival, nice large room - clean, comfortable & quiet. Basic breakfast - juices, tea, coffee, pastries, cereals but filled us up! Very good value for L.A. with free parking on the street. Good location in Hollywood / Beverley Hills

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilshire Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Crest Hotel

Address: 6301 Orange Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilshire Crest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wilshire Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilshire Crest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.