Pros: This is an older hotel that has many good things to offer. Rates are very reasonable, calculated on the price per person. You can get a sitting area and an extra sink/mirror if you read through the room descriptions on their website. The rooms are very clean, spacious and the staff are attentive. There is a nice continental breakfast, On Mondays and Tuesdays there is a no parking on one side of the street. The hotel manager and front desk person are trying to make sure their guests have not parked on the wrong side, there is a $50 fine. The hotel is in a great location (walking distance to Farmer's Market and Museums) and the fact there is free street parking are definite advantages.
Cons: However, in being an older hotel there are repairs that need to be attended to immediately. I brought these to their attention, but there was no move to make the repairs. Someone from maintenance came and saw the problem, the problem was not fixed. The wood veneer on the furniture is old and very warped. Our sink in the room had a broken hot water stem, their solution was to shut off the valve, only the cold water was working. The bathroom door did not fully close, the door frame was warped and did not fully close. I have NEVER stayed in a hotel where the bathroom door did not close. We had a significant amount of water coming in through the bathroom ceiling, reportedly from the guest above us not closing the shower curtain. When we looked above the door frame previous water damage was visible. Water leakage had happened before. When I reported this to the front desk person he did not offer to move us to another room. I had to ask and he did respond right away. Our second room had no warped wood and showed upgrades had been made.
Bottom Line: I hope the repairs can be made to bring all of the rooms up to the same standard. If they can, the hotel would be a true gem. I would be happy to return to this hotel on our next visit to LA.
Ask for a room which is quieter, it seems that the rooms at the back are less noisy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Valued Guest,
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad you experienced so much that we have to offer including are location, and large rooms. You also mention how clean and how attentive our staff was to you. In terms of the maintenance issues you mention, Unfortunately, we did not have a room to swap you into because we were sold out. I would like to point out that our rooms have two sinks in the rooms. So even if one needed repair there was aways a second one for you to use. I am glad that the second room you were switched into suited you better. What I am most happy about is that despite your minor issues you would be happy to return to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Los Angeles.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.