We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in L.A!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilshire Crest Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wilshire Crest Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wilshire Crest Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6301 Orange Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay in L.A!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Friendly staff on arrival, nice large room - clean, comfortable & quiet. Basic breakfast - juices, tea, coffee, pastries, cereals but filled us up! Very good value for L.A. with free parking on the street. Good location in Hollywood / Beverley Hills

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    111
    32
    17
    14
See reviews for
89
73
53
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Adorable, quaint hotel in the middle of LA. It's clean, nice neighborhood, free breakfast, and the most comfortable beds! The staff was very nice too. I would come back here every time I go back to LA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located near The Grove and Beverly Hills. Parking on the street wasn't tough. I was routinely coming back at midnight and found a place to park two blocks away. Neighborhood was safe enough for that walk. It's a very late 1980's mom and pop feel to the place. Bed comfotable, room clean, but the places looks like it hasnt been updated since Reagan was president. Staff is pleasant enough. My only issues were noisy, amorous couple above me one night and that my room was right next to where the maid station is and they start up early. Bottomline I had a great deal and I'd do it again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Wilshire Crest hotel on October 2012 and enjoyed it very much. The room was big, clean and cozy. The kosher breakfast was great. The guys in the front desk were very helpful and arranged for us free parking. Also the neighborhood was quiet and safe.
If any of my friends went to LA, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pros: This is an older hotel that has many good things to offer. Rates are very reasonable, calculated on the price per person. You can get a sitting area and an extra sink/mirror if you read through the room descriptions on their website. The rooms are very clean, spacious and the staff are attentive. There is a nice continental breakfast, On Mondays and Tuesdays there is a no parking on one side of the street. The hotel manager and front desk person are trying to make sure their guests have not parked on the wrong side, there is a $50 fine. The hotel is in a great location (walking distance to Farmer's Market and Museums) and the fact there is free street parking are definite advantages.
Cons: However, in being an older hotel there are repairs that need to be attended to immediately. I brought these to their attention, but there was no move to make the repairs. Someone from maintenance came and saw the problem, the problem was not fixed. The wood veneer on the furniture is old and very warped. Our sink in the room had a broken hot water stem, their solution was to shut off the valve, only the cold water was working. The bathroom door did not fully close, the door frame was warped and did not fully close. I have NEVER stayed in a hotel where the bathroom door did not close. We had a significant amount of water coming in through the bathroom ceiling, reportedly from the guest above us not closing the shower curtain. When we looked above the door frame previous water damage was visible. Water leakage had happened before. When I reported this to the front desk person he did not offer to move us to another room. I had to ask and he did respond right away. Our second room had no warped wood and showed upgrades had been made.
Bottom Line: I hope the repairs can be made to bring all of the rooms up to the same standard. If they can, the hotel would be a true gem. I would be happy to return to this hotel on our next visit to LA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is quieter, it seems that the rooms at the back are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasy35, Guest Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad you experienced so much that we have to offer including are location, and large rooms. You also mention how clean and how attentive our staff was to you. In terms of the maintenance issues you mention, Unfortunately, we did not have a room to swap you into because we were sold out. I would like to point out that our rooms have two sinks in the rooms. So even if one needed repair there was aways a second one for you to use. I am glad that the second room you were switched into suited you better. What I am most happy about is that despite your minor issues you would be happy to return to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great place to stay in LA. Pleasant and helpful staff. Available all hours to help with any needs. Clean and comfortable rooms. Quiet neighborhood. Good variety of fresh foods for breakfast. Close to bus stop for easy travel to see the sights if you do not have a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasy35, Guest Relations Manager at Wilshire Crest Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I thank you greatly fortaking the time and writing such a great review of our hotel. It is clear that we made your stay in Los angeles a memorable one. I am happy to hear how attentive our staff was to you. We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Cannot speak highly enough. The too s werespptless, really clean and i fact the maid service should be congratulated. Big rooms, great breakfast, awesome staff. Parking is on street but you get visitor pass. I will be recommending to everyone i know. Thank you tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Did not review pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilshire Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilshire Crest Hotel

Address: 6301 Orange Street, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wilshire Crest Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wilshire Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilshire Crest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.