We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel, Great Location and Awesome Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Hills Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Walt Disney World, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel, Great Location and Awesome Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Tucked in the beautiful hills, the hotel is private, safe, and quiet from the busy street/city below. Parking is easy w/ an assigned space and hotel is truly gated w/ a guard at night. Getting to Hollywood Blvd is a short walk down the hill so ideal location. Breakfast is nothing special, but a bowl of cereal and fruit does the job. The selection of fruit is wonderful from kiwis, nectarines, and tangerines but the bakery items were a disappointment. The website says they come from “one of the best bakeries in L.A” but tasted like over processed crap you find at every hotel. However, having 24/7 access to their list of complimentary snacks and drinks comes in handy.
THE ROOM: pictures online are enhanced. The rooms are old making them appear unclean and are in need of new carpet +fixtures. But the sheets were clean, bed comfortable, ac works really well, hot water comes in milliseconds, and it had a great powerful shower. Do now the walls are thin! We were awaken @5am by our neighbors = not happy. But the balcony with the amazing view makes up for all of this!! I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    79
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
43
89
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Veneta, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Even though I have stayed here twice, the hotel itself is very average. The rooms are OK, but dated and a bit " worn", The staff is good. The location and views are amazing, though. We stay here if we see a show at the Hollywood Bowl. We always get a King City View and have been happy both times. each room has a balcony to sit out on at night and a kitchenette.You are easy walking distance to the walk of fame, chinese theatre and all the restaurants that area has to offer. Did I mention the view??? They have a shuttle that runs you up and down the hill if you need it. It is pretty prompt and the drivers are always very nice. A few tips: You are kind of up and away from everything when you are in your room, so make sure you bring up bottled water and a few snacks. Say yes when they offer you snacks when you check in. There is no store on site really. Keep some cash on hand for tipping the shuttle. It is part of the magic castle hotel which is at the bottom of the Hill so that can be a bit confusing. Take the reccommedations of staff for dinner and let them make reservations, they got us fantastic seats and reccomended good places both times . A shuttle will drop you about a street away from the hollywood bowl, and pick you up from the show....this is very convenient, but you must arrange it in advance.

Room Tip: A high up city view king suite will give you a view of the Hollywood sign and city lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I flew into LA for a trip to Hollywood and 3 days at Disneyland. We arrived and spent our first two nights at the Hollywood Hills Hotel. Upon check-in I was given a glass of sparkling juice to commemorate my arrival. There was also fresh fruit and cucumber water waiting in the lobby. For those who are confused upon arrival, yes it's located within the Magic Castle Hotel. The check-in girl gave me a map on how to find my room as well as a menu of free beverages and snacks the hotel provides. I grabbed some sodas, a couple candy bars (Mars Candy), and a bag of popcorn. I went out to the car to drive up the hill to the restaurant. You follow a loop up around and enter the hotel at the entrance to the Yamashiro Restaurant. The parking area and hotel are gated, and you must have a code to enter. We parked the car, found the room, and were immediately taken by the view of Hollywood and Downtown. BEST VIEW IN THE CITY IMHO. The room was equipped with a full kitchen, dishes, pots and pans, a pull out sofa couch, a separate bedroom, and of course the massive balcony. We had some friends who live in LA come visit and we comfortably 7 of us in a tiny corner of the balcony. You could comfortably fit 20 people out there if you wanted. The hotel offered a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. We decided to walk down the hill. There was an old staircase that descends the hill from the Yamashiro restaurant we climbed down instead of taking the road around. This can be dangerous if your not careful, and you have to hop a fence at the bottom. But it drops you off right behind the Magic Castle. We stayed at the hotel those two nights, and then made the trip down to Anaheim. After two nights at Disney, we headed back to LA for three more nights at the HHH. Upon arrival, we were placed in a different room. This room was equally as nice, but completely different decor. It felt super homey. Someone in our group accidentally clogged the toilet so we called the office. They sent someone up to fix the toilet along with a complimentary bottle of wine and a bottle of champagne for our troubles. HOW IS THAT FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE? We popped the bottle to celebrate and headed out onto the balcony. That's when the real treat started. They started launching fireworks at the Hollywood Bowl and we had a perfect view from the room. Free fireworks and booze? In the end, the HHH provided the best stay I've ever had at a hotel. It's not the Ritz (too snobby anyways), but provided everything we needed. They truly wanted everyone to have an amazing experience at their hotel. We are planning another trip to LA in March, 2014 and I'm already making reservations at HHH. Do yourself a HUGE favor and book a room at this hotel. You will not regret it.

OH I ALMOST FORGOT. It's walking distance to the main strip on Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood and Highlands shopping center, and a short cab ride to the bars on Santa Monica Blvd (gay bars) and shopping on Rodeo Drive.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the top rooms for amazing views of downtown and hollywood. You may have the opportun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved this hotel. Our apartment had stunning views over the city and Hollywood Hills, the swimming pool was amazing, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are in an apartment block up the hill but it is quite an easy walk, we did not need to use the courtesy car. People have described the rooms as dated so it was a pleasant surprise to find good quality furniture and an airy decor. No swirly brown carpets. We thought the furniture suited the country feel of the place and everything was well maintained and clean. Who wants to spend their holidays watching flat screen TVs? The beds were particularly comfortable, especially the soft pillows. I liked being so near to the Hollywood attractions and yet in a quiet location. I thought the set up was more relaxing that being in the hustle and bustle of a traditional hotel, but having said that, the Magic Castle was pretty quiet and relaxed as well. There's apparently a cable internet connection in the rooms but no wifi so we used the Magic Castle reception and breakfast area that has very good wifi. Last but not least, my sons appreciated the free snacks and the free pass to LA Fitness. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived quite late and were greeted at reception by a very friendly fellow. He was nice and explained everything and even gave us universal studios directions as we were going the next morning. He told us about the free mini bar and the free shuttle from the magic castle hotel.

When we got up to the Hollywood hills hotel which is at the top of a huge hill the place looks very old fashion. Dont let this turn you off the room was huge!! clean but not modern thats all. everything was great in this place the views and the pool up here are unbelievable. every time we went to the pool we had it to our self!!

The breakfast was served in the magic castle hotel which we walked down and back up every morning in fact we didn't use the shuttle as we rather walk.

it wasn't that bad of a walk but there is no footpath and is very steep but only takes like 5 to 6 mins to walk.

Breakfast was brilliant had very healthy stuff or not if you like you had your choice.The seating was limited but we never had any trouble getting a seat.

when we went out the day we always came back to a clean room and all the towels changed was super.

this place was truly the best place we stayed in our 2 weeks in america would defo go again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

went to hollywood with my family for 5 days......my sister chose this hotel so until i got there i had no idea what it looked like......here is my review .
this hotel sits in back of the magic castle hotel, so you have to check in there before going up the hill to the hollywood hills hotel. when you check in you feel very welcomed ! the staff is incredibly nice and helpful so while checking in you feel you are in the right place. but as you enter the gates to the hollywood hills hotel you start to have doubts. it is an older place that looks like it used to be apartments. its not a feel good feeling and while still in the car you are wondering if you want to stay there. we stayed on the second floor. the hallway you have to go through is like no other place i have ever stayed.. long and dark and very awkward . we arrived to our room and went inside. it is like a one bedroom small apartment. a tiny kitchen , living room and a bedroom.
there were five of us the room had 2 double beds and there was a pull out couch.
the kitchen is tiny with a range, a microwave, a frig, and plates, pots. so if you wanted to cook it would be perfect but it is very dated....
living room---can i say dated!!!! the sofa looked very used and the sofa bed was beyond awful you could feel all the metal bars under you...the tv in the living room was from the eighties old old. i don't understand with tvs now so inexpensive how they still have this dated one in the living room and in the room. there is a kitchen table that could use some paint and there is a sliding door that takes you to the balcony. the balcony is just run down but the view is very nice.
the carpet---was old and felt dirty.
the room---had 2 beds and they were very comfortable there is an old wall air-condition that is suppose to cool the room and the living room. it did not, so we had to get them to give us a fan. there is another old tv .
the bathroom---is small and has been updated a little but you can still see paint cracking on top of the shower.
breakfast---there is free breakfast but you have to go to were you checked in to get your breakfast. they have coffee, juices,cereal,fresh fruits , bread and pastries. not bad at all.
treats---this is the best part of all--at the front desk were you check in you can get treats. as many as you want anytime. they have--cokes, sprite, act all full size cans, chips, fritos,cheetos,act and candy like hersheys chocolate, peanut butter cup act. all for free.
parking--there is a parking fee that we were not aware of i think its 11 dollars a day.
overall----when i arrived i wanted to find another place , i didn't like the place at all and it felt so very dated. but as they days passed and we got our treats and breakfast and interacted with the people that work there( they make you feel so good because they are beyond nice and accommodating ) we started feeling better about our stay. although it is a very dated place it served our purpose and the location is great. would i stay there again. maybe now that i got over the shock of the place but i would research other places before making a decision. we just slept there but if i was going to stay in the room for longer periods of time. then for sure i would not want to stay there. its weird i hated it at first and at the end it was not as bad as i thought it would be.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel may not be fancy but it is a great place to stay. Clean and comfortable rooms, breathtaking views of the city, and the best customer service from their staff I have experienced at a hotel in a long time. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Nick was especially helpful in recommending places to see or eat. He is the best!!
The hotel is located at the top of the hill and they have a free shuttle to take you back to the main hotel (Magic Castle). They provide free soda and snacks to the guests and that was very nice.

The rooms have kitchenettes and a private deck overlooking the city and hills. The pool was beautiful.
Was within walking distance to alot of sites, restaurants and shops. Make sure to eat at Tinhorn Flats Grill. Great food at reasonable prices. And a great Happy Hour.

If we ever come back we will definitely stay at either Hollywood Hills or Magic Castle hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hills Hotel

Address: 1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Hills Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollywood Hills
Hollywood Hills Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.