We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm minutes from the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Hills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Hills Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Twickenham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm minutes from the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved this hotel. Our apartment had stunning views over the city and Hollywood Hills, the swimming pool was amazing, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are in an apartment block up the hill but it is quite an easy walk, we did not need to use the courtesy car. People have described the rooms as dated so it was a pleasant surprise to find good quality furniture and an airy decor. No swirly brown carpets. We thought the furniture suited the country feel of the place and everything was well maintained and clean. Who wants to spend their holidays watching flat screen TVs? The beds were particularly comfortable, especially the soft pillows. I liked being so near to the Hollywood attractions and yet in a quiet location. I thought the set up was more relaxing that being in the hustle and bustle of a traditional hotel, but having said that, the Magic Castle was pretty quiet and relaxed as well. There's apparently a cable internet connection in the rooms but no wifi so we used the Magic Castle reception and breakfast area that has very good wifi. Last but not least, my sons appreciated the free snacks and the free pass to LA Fitness. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    79
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
43
90
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived quite late and were greeted at reception by a very friendly fellow. He was nice and explained everything and even gave us universal studios directions as we were going the next morning. He told us about the free mini bar and the free shuttle from the magic castle hotel.

When we got up to the Hollywood hills hotel which is at the top of a huge hill the place looks very old fashion. Dont let this turn you off the room was huge!! clean but not modern thats all. everything was great in this place the views and the pool up here are unbelievable. every time we went to the pool we had it to our self!!

The breakfast was served in the magic castle hotel which we walked down and back up every morning in fact we didn't use the shuttle as we rather walk.

it wasn't that bad of a walk but there is no footpath and is very steep but only takes like 5 to 6 mins to walk.

Breakfast was brilliant had very healthy stuff or not if you like you had your choice.The seating was limited but we never had any trouble getting a seat.

when we went out the day we always came back to a clean room and all the towels changed was super.

this place was truly the best place we stayed in our 2 weeks in america would defo go again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

went to hollywood with my family for 5 days......my sister chose this hotel so until i got there i had no idea what it looked like......here is my review .
this hotel sits in back of the magic castle hotel, so you have to check in there before going up the hill to the hollywood hills hotel. when you check in you feel very welcomed ! the staff is incredibly nice and helpful so while checking in you feel you are in the right place. but as you enter the gates to the hollywood hills hotel you start to have doubts. it is an older place that looks like it used to be apartments. its not a feel good feeling and while still in the car you are wondering if you want to stay there. we stayed on the second floor. the hallway you have to go through is like no other place i have ever stayed.. long and dark and very awkward . we arrived to our room and went inside. it is like a one bedroom small apartment. a tiny kitchen , living room and a bedroom.
there were five of us the room had 2 double beds and there was a pull out couch.
the kitchen is tiny with a range, a microwave, a frig, and plates, pots. so if you wanted to cook it would be perfect but it is very dated....
living room---can i say dated!!!! the sofa looked very used and the sofa bed was beyond awful you could feel all the metal bars under you...the tv in the living room was from the eighties old old. i don't understand with tvs now so inexpensive how they still have this dated one in the living room and in the room. there is a kitchen table that could use some paint and there is a sliding door that takes you to the balcony. the balcony is just run down but the view is very nice.
the carpet---was old and felt dirty.
the room---had 2 beds and they were very comfortable there is an old wall air-condition that is suppose to cool the room and the living room. it did not, so we had to get them to give us a fan. there is another old tv .
the bathroom---is small and has been updated a little but you can still see paint cracking on top of the shower.
breakfast---there is free breakfast but you have to go to were you checked in to get your breakfast. they have coffee, juices,cereal,fresh fruits , bread and pastries. not bad at all.
treats---this is the best part of all--at the front desk were you check in you can get treats. as many as you want anytime. they have--cokes, sprite, act all full size cans, chips, fritos,cheetos,act and candy like hersheys chocolate, peanut butter cup act. all for free.
parking--there is a parking fee that we were not aware of i think its 11 dollars a day.
overall----when i arrived i wanted to find another place , i didn't like the place at all and it felt so very dated. but as they days passed and we got our treats and breakfast and interacted with the people that work there( they make you feel so good because they are beyond nice and accommodating ) we started feeling better about our stay. although it is a very dated place it served our purpose and the location is great. would i stay there again. maybe now that i got over the shock of the place but i would research other places before making a decision. we just slept there but if i was going to stay in the room for longer periods of time. then for sure i would not want to stay there. its weird i hated it at first and at the end it was not as bad as i thought it would be.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel may not be fancy but it is a great place to stay. Clean and comfortable rooms, breathtaking views of the city, and the best customer service from their staff I have experienced at a hotel in a long time. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Nick was especially helpful in recommending places to see or eat. He is the best!!
The hotel is located at the top of the hill and they have a free shuttle to take you back to the main hotel (Magic Castle). They provide free soda and snacks to the guests and that was very nice.

The rooms have kitchenettes and a private deck overlooking the city and hills. The pool was beautiful.
Was within walking distance to alot of sites, restaurants and shops. Make sure to eat at Tinhorn Flats Grill. Great food at reasonable prices. And a great Happy Hour.

If we ever come back we will definitely stay at either Hollywood Hills or Magic Castle hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laveen, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This past weekend is the 3rd time my husband and I have stayed at this hotel. WE LOVE IT. Do not expect a fancy looking place. This it is not. It is a throwback old hotel but the rooms are clean, the beds are very comfortable and the balcony rooms have the most beautiful views of the city. Oh and the pool is gorgeous. It is tucked up in the Hollywood hills but not to worry, they have a shuttle service that will happily come get you and drive you down the hill. Which is one block away from Hollywood Blvd.The staff is top notch. The customer service they provide is excellent. I can't say enough good things about this place. We will be back.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are the best. Right next to the pool. And it is almost always a very quiet pool. Mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINTERVILLE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I found HHH when looking for hotels in Hollywood that had a kitchenette, since we were going to be staying for 8 nights with children and my son has special dietary needs. The room rate for the hillside suite we booked was barely more than the cost of a regular hotel room in Hollywood, for what was for all intents and purposes one-bedroom apartment. The property was a bit older, but the room was clean & comfortable; a problem with the fridge was resolved promptly. The staff absolutely could not have been more accommodating. They even let us have a late checkout on the day we left, for no extra charge, so we could say goodbye to Hollywood. Being a little removed from the street, it was very quiet at night. Yes, it's a bit of a hike down to the Magic Castle for breakfast, but it's a beautiful walk, and the courtesy van is usually available to take you back up. Once you get to the Magic Castle, it's only a block and a half more to Hollywood Boulevard, near Madame Tussaud's, Mann's Chinese Theatre, and the Hollywood Highland Center. A grocery store is about 2 blocks away, plus you can get free sodas, candy, cookies, and chips at the desk. Our room had a balcony extending the length of the apartment, with an absolutely fantastic view of the hillside houses to the left and Hollywood proper to the right. The kitchen was small but serviceable (we mainly just made sandwiches). The beds were incredibly comfortable. BRING AN ETHERNET CABLE; HHH doesn't have wireless, but you can get a free internet hookup via the cable TV modem. We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the hillside suites. Any comments about it pertain to those rooms. We had a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic stay. Old building and rooms but clean and comfortable. We were given room 404 and asked for another mattress protector or such as the springs could be felt. We were offered another room and chose the room next door which was much larger. The magic castle staff are fantastic, nothing was to much trouble. The rooms were serviced every day and of course all the free snacks and drinks are a real bonus. Tried to extend our stay but sadly could not change our flight. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 405 next to the pool. Quite very spacious, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hills Hotel

Address: 1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Hills Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollywood Hills
Hollywood Hills Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.