We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Hills Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hollywood Hills Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068 (Hollywood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were fairly please with this hotel. It used to be apartments that have been renovated. I think they are still in the process of renovating because it was a mix of new features and old worn features. Overall it is fairly clean, I noticed a little dirt/dust behind the bathroom door and the carpet had some stains, but everything else was ok. The beds were clean. The room is really like an apartment so this would be good if you were staying for a while. The best part of this place is the pool and the view (if you are in a city-side, not hillside room). In person, the pool really does look like the photos.
If you plan to visit the walk of starts and Chinese theatre this is a short walk from the hotel. This touristy area of Hollywood is pretty sketchy. It was nice to return to the peaceful Hollywood Hills after our insane walk down Hollywood Blvd.
If you have mobility issues, this may not be the hotel for you. There is not an elevator and depending on which floor you are on, you may need to walk up a flight or two of stairs with your luggage. The hotel is on a steep hill, so it is about a 5 - 10 minute walk down to breakfast at the main hotel (Magic Castle). However, they do offer a free shuttle.
You can use the amentities at the Magic Castle hotel (they give out snacks), but the pool at the Hollywood Hils is much nicer.The staff is super friendly and helpful. They gave us some good restaurant recommendations.
Breakfast at the Magic Castle was pretty tasty. It was your regular continental breakfast items - cereal, muffins, yogurt, fruit. It was presented beautifully (it looked like Martha Stewart set it out).
Yes we received a surprise parking fee at the Hollywood hotels. I do not remember the exact amount, but it was between $10 and $15 for the night.
To summarize, this place could be a little cleaner, but the staff, the pool, and the view are awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    73
    21
    12
    10
See reviews for
41
85
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great Hollywood location, walk to Chinese Theater and attractions. Sister property of Magic Castle. Up a big hill giving you a great view of LA. Thursday nights they have a farmers market at the restaurant above hotel which is fabulous, complete with music. Pool at hotel has great view and is quiet and relaxing after a day of sightseeing. Free snacks and breakfast in hotel lobby. Rooms are very large with nice balconies. Most have kitchenettes. Shower pressure is great! Linens great. Furnishings and cabinets in kitchen and bathroom vanities are old and nicked a bit. Bathroom counters are nice granite. Carpet and flooring not the best, but really not a problem at all. If you want luxury 4 Seasons/ Ritz Carlton decor than this is not the place for you. The size of the rooms and the location and friendliness and helpfulness of the staff more than make up for these shortcomings. We stayed 4 days and at first I was not sure of the old decor, but I enjoyed my surroundings more and more each day. The rooms are very large compared to a regular hotel room! There is an 11.00 parking fee, but the room is very reasonable /cheap at around 140.00 a night for this location. Thanks Hollywood Hills for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Thursday night Farmer's market is a must from 5-9pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotel is in a great location, however it is also in dire need of an upgrade. The chairs were filthy (I was not game enough to sit on them) and the bathroom had an ant problem. Shower is a trickling tap and not the best shower to enjoy after a 20 hour flight. There are some apartments which seem to be different (newer windows), so perhaps we were unlucky and got the worst of the lot. Checkin was also at 12pm, however our card was deactivated at 11am, which is their standard procedure - very inconvenient having to go down and have this reactivated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hollywood Hills Hotel for 3 nights this past month. It was part one of a trip to LA and San Diego.

What can I say the HHH is like that nice friend you want to fix up with someone, but the intro is that they have a great personality...of course that also means not much to look at.

Is it worth the date? Your first impression is check in. The staff here is superb, super friendly and helpful. I was greeted with a refreshing beverage (nice after the long flight and drive) fast check in, a list of free snacks (I got a few right away) a map of what’s in the area and a map of how to get up the hill and to your room. So far so good. Then we got to the room. It’s a big room with a small kitchenette a balcony looking over all of LA and a king size bed. Great start, however as you walk in you also notice the sad furniture, the drapes that are coming down a bit and not so easy to open and close, the rug that’s frayed and other shabby touches.

We decided to have a swim. The pool was right outside our door and a lot quieter and larger than the pool at the Magic Castle down the hill. The pool was perfect, refreshing, clean and well kept.

Is this the spot for you? Well the location is excellent and the parking fee the lowest I found when comparing hotels. The bed was very comfy, no complaints here. You do however have to put up with the tired look of the room and furnishings. But you get a great price. So it’s up to you to decide how much more you want to pay for pretty or a cool LA ambiance. We were happy staying here and splurged on the next hotel in San Diego. We might stay here again depending on our travel budget and would tell our friends about the great hotel with the wonderful personality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is in a good location but if you don't like to walk, you might want to consider the Magic Castle down below. The rooms are up a steep hill. Rooms are in need of paint and new shades. Remotes didn't have batteries. Beds are comfy. My daughter fell trying to go out of the door of their garage gate. It wasn't mark as "watch your step" and it has a bar going all of the way across the bottom even when the door is open. Nobody would step into a door unless warned and this door had no warnings. She came away with a bloody and bruised elbow and a VERY bruised and sore hip. Management did help with first aid but just beware. I wouldn't want someone else getting hurt. I hope they have marked that door after this incident. She is still in pain and was for the later part of our trip. :( The free snacks at this hotel were awesome. And the staff very nice. Walking distance to the nice part of Hollywood Blvd and the Jimmy Kimmel studio.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our stop in Hollywood was part of a 3 week holiday that took us to New York, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Bora Bora and Washington.

I spent quite a lot of time looking for a reasonably priced hotel, located close to Universal Studios and the Hollywood walk of fame. This hotel fulfills all the criteria!! the location is great, out of the traffic as well. I am a light sleeper so was hoping to have a quiet hotel and it was just that! no traffic noise at all! you can even see the Hollywood sign from the hotel! You are also 5 minutes walking distance from the Hollywood walk of fame!!

Each room has its own parking space which is great. The entrance is protected by and electric gate for which you need to use a password. Just be aware that they charge you for the parking. I don't remember how much it is but it was not too much.

The room is large and yes it is a little worn down, but for the price it really is a good deal. The most important is that the rooms are clean! and you have a kitchenette. the bathroom is functional, you have a bath in which you can also take a shower. The room also has free internet but it is not WIFI. You have a cable to connect to your computer.

There is a very nice restaurant just above the hotel, which is pricey, but has a fantastic view of Los Angles! we went there the last day and did not regret.

When you go there, just remember that you need to check in the Magic Castle hotel just below. They have free and unlimited mars products!

Reception staff is absolutely great! I was warmly welcomed and even offered a refreshment in addition to any mars sweets! During our stay I needed to print off some documents and the reception printed all the stuff I needed, having sent them the documents by email from our room.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for your mars products that a free and unlimited!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Important, check in is at the Magic Castle hotel which is at the bottom of the hill. So programme your sat nav for that particular destination! If you drive straight there (ie the top of the hill you won't really be able to actually see the hotel, the locals don't seem to know where it is either it's not signposted and you won't get past the gate without a pass code - so don't bother trying!

The Hollywood Hills hotel is basically a self contained annex of studio apartments with its own pool but no reception. The hotel feels like its in the country but is actually just a couple of blocks from the hustle and bustle of Hollywood. Quite amazing how you can go from one environment to another in the space of a few hundred yards.

The hotel is on a hill (obvious really) and whilst it's not like climbing the north face of the Eiger, it's a 5 minute walk, on a fairly steep gradient, down to reception and to breakfast. Reception talked enthusiastically about a curtesy shuttle but we neither saw nor used it.

Pool is a decent size (and deep!) with a really lovely Japanese garden surrounds overlooking LA. Great to chill out there after a day sightseeing although there's not a huge amount of space round the pool and some of the sun loungers had seen better days.

Pillows, bedding, bed and duvet were all really great, slept really well. Shower thermostat was a little hit and miss, difficult to get the right temperature. Huge balcony, although not sure exactly what you could do with all the space isn't clear.

TV in bedroom plus another in the sitting room. No wi fi but there was ethernet which presumably is useful for a laptop.

The corridor approach to the rooms can only be described as being like something out of a Russian goolag. Don't be too put off by this, the rooms are much nicer.

We had a ludicrously large balcony, big enough to play football on, although we didn't.

Room Tip: I think you pay slightly more for a view of the hills. Ours was a city view, but you could see the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hills Hotel

Address: 1999 N Sycamore Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Hills Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hollywood Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hollywood Hills
Hollywood Hills Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.