We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Hollywood walk of fame!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Forever Cemetery

Hollywood Forever Cemetery
6000 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90038 (Central L.A)
323-469-1181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 310 Attractions in Los Angeles
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Final resting-place of some of Hollywood's celebrities and other luminaries.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than the Hollywood walk of fame!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We visited the Hollywood Forever cemetary as it was near the vacation home we were renting. What a great experience! it is like a whole other world once you enter the gates from the somewhat sketchy/commercial surroundlings of the neighborhood. Beautiful grounds, peacocks, swans and incredibly grandious grave markers and monuments will capture your attemtion. We found that one end of the site is devoted to Armenien folks (with outrageously over the top grave markers) and the other side more focused on old Hollywood stars. We found many big names just by wandering around - a map is not really necessary unless you are after someone specific.

It is a truly beautiful and tranquil oasis in an otherwise bustling part of the city. Also, you can park for free right inside the cemetary!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    62
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place is huge!! We had about 45 minutes to spare so we stopped by. I wish I had spent time searching some maps of the place on line because I felt a little overwhelmed. I really wanted to find Toto but never did. We meandered around for a while but could have spent a few hours here. The peacocks were beautiful and my son found a feather to take home. It is my favorite souvenir of our trip. It was very nice to have an easy, relaxing, crowd and cost free activity. Definitely add to your itinerary!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Easy to get lost in. Cemetery map was expensive and hard to follow. There are some extravagant markers in that cemetery.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Johnny Ramone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hollywood Forever is a great place to get away from all people and cars and hassles of L.A. for a little while. Lots of celebrity final resting places to seek out. It makes for a good walking tour of the grounds. You might get lucky and get to buy a bacon wrapped hot dog aka the L.A. dog from a vendor on the street on your walk to the front gates. A word about the annual Dia de Los Muertos festival held here. It used to be a very cool event where you could see memorial family members create to remember their relatives. Its kinda turned into a corporate sponsored drinking party. especially toward sundown. The heart has gone out of it. The cemetery itself however is always worth a stop.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best experience in L.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After a few days visiting the LA area, the Cinespia movie screening at the Hollywood forever cemetery was like a breath of fresh air. Great atmosphere outside in the cemetery at night and fabulous vibes from the crowd seeing the movie. The audience engaged with the movie without being distracting and the eating and drinking was a definite plus without getting out of control. Worth it to pay for the parking pass so you don't have to stand in line forever, just make sure to try and show up just before they open the gates because spots fill up quickly on the lawn.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Forever Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Forever Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Forever Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.