We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air

The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air
701 Stone Canyon Road, Los Angeles, CA 90077
310-472-1211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 7,958 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: The famous hotel bar retains its unique club-like vibe from years past but with a glamorous twist. A central fireplace, grand piano and wood paneled walls will make you feel like you've been transported back to the Golden Age of Hollywood. Herringbone design floors, antique mirrors, and an incredible leather woven bar adds richness and depth to this chic new space. Since our Southern California weather is our greatest asset, the Bar has been expanded into the outdoors with the addition of three cozy garden alcoves separated by bi-fold doors. The doors can be open or closed depending on your mood.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great to have a drink outside in the pretty garden, they have heaters outside as it was a bit cool , .....but expensive but then you are in Bel Air

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear JillyB371,

Thank you for your review of The Bar and Lounge. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us and am hoping to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Busy buzzy bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

A good buzzy atmosphere and there was live jazz playing on the night we went. This is a busy bar and it is tricky to get a table even if you are a hotel guest, but its worth battling for! A good end to an evening out in LA

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Luxuryloafers,

It is great to hear that you also had the time to enjoy an evening in The Bar and Lounge during your recent stay at Hotel Bel-Air. I am sorry to hear that it was not as easy as it should have been to secure a table. Please know that we are doing our best to prevent this from reoccurring in the future. But most importantly, I am thrilled to know that your experience with us was a "good end" to your evening.

Many thanks again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We loved pianos!; and since this bar got one, we even liked it more. Good place to meet people there too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Helen M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in The Bar & Lounge. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your evening listening to live music. We offer this every night so hopefully we will see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old Hollywood Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Old Hollywood charm with soft lighting and paintings of classic celebrities. Dark wood decor and warm fireplace. Great live music, piano. Recommend the martini and burger.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Todd G,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience in The Bar & Lounge. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the old Hollywood charm, live music, and your martini and burger. And I have to agree with your recommendation…the burger is one of the best in the city!

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very noisy and difficult to get a table even for hotel guests. Staff smiled but no particularly helpful

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise F, General Manager at The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Gosh13,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Bar & Lounge. I thank you for your detailed and candid feedback as it is only in this way that we are able to improve upon our shortcomings. I am very disappointed to learn that you experience was such a disappointing one. There is no excuse for the fact that the staff seemed unhelpful and I am very sorry for this. Due to business volumes at certain times, it can be difficult to find a table, but you can still be provided with a service experience that better manages this situation. We do have live entertainment in the Bar & Lounge nightly, and this can impact noise levels, but we do our best to ensure that the environment is a comfortable and pleasant one. Clearly, this was not the case for you and I apologize for this. We take great pride in providing Five Star service in all areas of our operation and it is most concerning that you did not find this to be the case. I can assure you this is not reflective of our high standards at Hotel Bel-Air, and it is my sincere hope that we can somehow have the opportunity to be of service to you again and change your perception of The Bar & Lounge.

Warm Regards,
Denise Flanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bar at Hotel Bel-Air, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.