We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOTS OF NOISE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cow Kitchen & Bar

Blue Cow Kitchen & Bar
350 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071
(213) 621-2249
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #657 of 8,660 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vegan, Vegetarian, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd street
Transit: One block north of the Pershing Square stop on the Red Line.
Description: Blue Cow is an upscale, full-service New-American restaurant serving innovative sandwiches, seasonal cocktails, craft beers, small plates and entrees that showcase local farming and artisan products, inspired by taking the approachable and giving it a modern interpretation.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“LOTS OF NOISE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went here for dinner on a Thursday night. Very crowded at the outside bar as the yuppies were boozing it up after their law firm/banker jobs for the day. Too much posturing. Not my scene, but it looked lively.

Inside was better; not as packed. The server was wonderful; cheerful, helpful, and just all-around great. The food was quite good; tried the baked then fried potatoes and the fish special, along with fried chicken sandwich. Very filling. A bit pricey overall; about $50 per person with tax and tip (but we did have beer and wine).

Big downside. The NOISE level was unbearable. I don't understand why restaurants equate noise with hip. I mean, you don't need a place where only whispers are allowed, but it would be nice to converse in a normal voice and not have to literally YELL to be heard by the person next to you. Seriously folks, put up some fabric and tone it down a bit. Otherwise, it would be a great place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very exciting flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The food is eclectic and actually fun to eat. Appreciate the unique flavors. Purchased the $25 dinner combo and it was an exciting meal of different flavors. Despite the unique flavors, the food settled fine with me afterwards. Found this to be a truly unique experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Blue Cow with Some Wow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Let's start with the terrific staff at Blue Cow - fun, personable and prompt. Our server and bus boy kept our glasses filled and our table cleared. I visited during lunch on a nice spring, sunny day in Downtown LA and the restaurant and patio area were filled. (Make a reservation!)

My co-worker and I ordered from the lunch menu - Grilled Chicken w Kale and Green Apples and BSB's Country Fried Chicken Rolls. Both servings were very filling and my friend had just about a bushel of kale in her salad with minimal green apples and chicken. I think the chef could have made four additional kale salads with the amount of kale served in just this one dish. The fried chicken I ordered was fairly standard fare and who does not love Hawaiian rolls? They are kinda like butter or bacon - they make everything better. I would have preferred a simply yellow mustard or some sort of aioli to the somewhat bitter mustard slaw served with the open faced chicken sandwich. The side salad was tasty and allowed a little less guilt about eating fried chicken.

The lemonade is unusually flavored with maybe a little lime? Not sure, but I would not order it again. No big deal as the crowd is upbeat and lively and the service staff friendly. I do like the additional lighting added to the space as Casa, the restaurant which inhabited the space prior to Blue Cow, felt dark and cramped. I will try Blue Cow again, maybe for Happy Hour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I went here on a Saturday night when it was a bit quiter than the weeknights i was in LA. I really wasn't impressed with the food and the service was terrible. We had a cheese burger and a rib sandwich. Both were full of salt and had very little taste. We ordered two fries and got one and they didn't take a drinks order.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
preston, uk
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stumbled upon this Bar when staying at the Omni Hotel next door.
The staff here are attentive and excellent. The outdoor dining was comfortable but the indoor dining a little noisy for our taste.
We were fortunate to go late afternoon during happy hour (Mon - Fri 4.30 - 6.30), when the prices for both bar food and beverages was excellent. The quality was also excellent.

Outside these times, prices seemed a little above average for the area. Mind you, if the quality for the main meals was of similar standard to the bar snacks, it would still be worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Cow Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Blue Cow Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cow Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.