We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walt Disney Concert Hall

Walt Disney Concert Hall
111 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)
323-850-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Walt Disney Concert Hall like an insider
Top Rated
$44*
and up
Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Home of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, this concert hall is designed to be one of the most acoustically sophisticated in the world.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Design!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The acoustics are amazing in the space. The design lends itself to look like a bigger venue than it is for the actual performance space. The orchestra pit and the choir seating take up half the space.They space really tends to go upward versus outward. Great for the acoustics and makes for a much more intimate concert experience. This building is a must visit spot. Go see the LA Philharmonic or any guest show.

Tip- The cafe a few doors down off the Music Center is a better food bet than the Patina offered right below. Parking- Make note of the elevator you use to come up into the concert hall. At the end of the night it can get a bit confusing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    313
    59
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Musical Venue and Amazing Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A monument to Los Angeles, an architectural wonder inside and out, great acoustics and meticulous planning make this a wonderful concert hall that has it all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great 90 minute free docent tour of the Music center and Diney Hall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The docent was so knowledgeable and the visit was interesting and very worthwhile. Even tough I go to the music center facilities for shows for the last 20 years, I leaned so much on this tour. Well worth your time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great venue for all things classical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I'm not exactly a classical music officianado, but I do appreciate hearing a good classical concert once in a while. The best thing about this place are the acoustics. The seats could offer a little more leg room if you ask me...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Park in the underground lot. We paid the $20 fee but with tour validation we received $11 back. Good parking value for LA. Take the free guided tour of the buildings. Our docent was very knowledgable and full of stories of the multiple buildings. Great cafe in building..

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walt Disney Concert Hall also viewed

 

Been to Walt Disney Concert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walt Disney Concert Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.