We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - nothing fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1123 West Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Kent, Washington, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value - nothing fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great value for the money. Would stay there again. Good Thai food right in front too! Bonus! Parking can be a little tough if you get in late.

Room Tip: Room was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
3
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Good: Lowest cost for a branded hotel near downtown; very large selection of TV channels; refrigerator & iron with full-size board in room.
The Bad: Ants in room; no coffee or microwave in room; questionable neighborhood; ridiculously tiny space at sink-had to use refrigerator to hold shaver, toothbrush & a few other sundries; restaurant did not look appetizing & had very limited menu (did not use).
The Ugly: VERY noisy due to sound coming through PTAC; rod was compression style & kept falling; water flow at sink was nearly non-existent; breakfast was 2 cold cereals, tang, coffee, & an open loaf of bread for toast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The customer service agents at the check-in desk are sweet and friendly.
The room basically feels more like a studio apartment. It's clean, but not fancy.
When it came time for sleeping, as we were on the 7th street side, we had to close all the windows to block out traffic sounds. (Also, there were 4 gunshots fired right across the street side our room the first night at 3:30am. We called 911 to come take a look.) Closed windows were ok because there was an A/C unit in the wall.

Bottom line, it's cheap, it's clean, it's basic.
I wouldn't recommend trying to get home to this place late at night. It gets shady in this neighborhood. Not that I felt threatened, but I know it's not really safe.

P.S. Forget about the continental breakfast. It's pretty much just cereal. :) And the pool was closed while we were there. It's your basic outdoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Checked in Monday Night, checked out the following morning. Room just made our skin crawl. Although it was fairly quiet, the area was just too sketchy to make me feel at ease. The walls were extremely filthy. Bathroom door was stained with who knows what..poop, boogers, blood, dirt? On one side of the wall closest to the 2nd bed that seperated the bathroom, there what seemed to be a dried up bloody loogie. The bathroom sink always clogged up for no apparent reason. This place is beyond low budget and they should be charging less.
After driving from San Francisco and checking into this place, you want to kick of those shoes and releax. BUT!! The carpet felt so dirty and disgusting I made sure we all wore our shoes no matter what, and also made sure our 1 year old didn't crawl on the floor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The front desk person was very helpful. He usually works the 12 am to 8:00 a.m. but that night was doing double shift because the other person was sick. He let us choose the room. Unfortunately, my daughter hurt her ankle with the bed frame and she was bleeding and in a lot of pain. We had to get the front person to try to cover the door frame so that did not happen again. The following day they shaved down the bed frame to make sure that does not happen again and was told they were going to make sure other rooms did not have same problem with bed frame.

One piece of advise, the bathroom sink is very small and does not have a counter where you can put toothbrushes, toothpaste and mouthwash. You barely have room to put that, so it is a little uncomfortable when you have more than one person sharing the same bathroom. In our case there were 3 of us. We managed but I wanted you to know.

The breakfast in the morning was average. The bagels are small, they have cereals and milk as well. The orange drink is Sunny Delight and I really do not like it, but that is just my personal opinion.

Free speed internet did not work properly inside the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

After reading some reviews on this hotel I had to check this place for myself. As soon as we got there the clerk was friendly,the hotel has plenty of parking spaces, the room was clean,especially the bathroom. The area was great for its price,it was quiet throughout the nights we were there. Best value and my family and I enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Reservation through their own website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I got there around 4 PM, there was some kind of construction going on at the other end of the motel. If they are improving the place, it was a good sign. May not be good for people that want to sleep during the daytime though.

Checkin was simple enough, the rooms are a decent size. Very Green with the hardwood floors and energy saving lights. the flatscreen was nice, although the cable selection could have been better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1123 West Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.