We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Staycation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Downtown LA

Save Saved
You added The Standard Downtown LA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Standard Downtown LA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Business Staycation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Friendly staff from valet to front desk to the restaurant. Form of payment, reservation process and check out process made clear. Front desk attendant informed of all hotel amenities and activities during check in. Check in adn out wasall under 10 minutes btw. Simply stylish rooms. Large kings beds, plush down pillows. Nice quality comforter and crispy linens. Even a nice throw blanket. Cozy waffle weave bathrobe. No bedroom slippers though (haha). Nice fragrant shower amenities. "Entertaining" glass box shower =). Great outdoor rooftop space to soak up fresh air and watch funny business travelers let loose. This simple hotel is still better than the global chain boxy generic hotels. Hotel's 24 hour restaurant has a nice selection of comfort and healthy food choices. Would I come back? Yes. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the upper Downtown LA area.

Room Tip: Aim for higher than the 8th floor. And east- or south-facing for the best views. Not so near the 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us during your trip to Downtown Los Angeles! We hope we can welcome you back in the near future and if you travel here frequently on business you might want to ask our Sales Department about a corporate rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    273
    133
    82
    104
See reviews for
29
206
75
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The rooms, as others have remarked in their reviews here, require better cleaning. I was especially miffed at staff, two of whom treated me unexpectedly surly. one tried to convince me my (foreign) passport was not a valid form of ID and I, an international visitor, should get a california drivers license, which is of course as preposterous as impossible for someone merely visiting. given the premium rates they charge I was underwhelmed and will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear that you had a poor experience and we'd certainly ask you to speak to a manager whilst you are on property so we can discuss this with you in person. We take our guest satisfaction and guest relations very seriously so we're very sad to hear you had a less than satisfactory experience. Please do feel free to contact me directly with more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here in January after new years. The 'basic' design of the hotel is not quite as charming as you would think. Everything looks like it is original. The grey carpet in the rooms, the white tile in the bathrooms etc... Looks like it needs a cleaning, but i dont think there is strong enough bleach.
If you are there to party, have fun, just keep your shoes on

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Sorry to hear that you're stay here was less than satisfactory. Our bathroom tiles are actually grey, not white, and I can reassure you that our housekeeping staff take their responsibilities very seriously and the rooms are cleaned thoroughly! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I checked into the hotel on a Monday evening and had to switch rooms three times due to the loud music and thumbing bass that permeated through the walls and windows. I finally settled into a room on the 8th floor (814) but it was not until the hotel turned off the music at 1:30 AM that I was able to fall asleep. The rooms themselves are very sparse with only a mattress on a carpeted platform, and single plastic chair. The room lack a closet and even a box of tissue. Ironically they contain a pair of ear plugs. In addition the entire property looks worn and in need of a makeover.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We're so sorry to hear you had a disturbed nights sleep during your stay here. Please note that we do have 'corporate floors' so feel free to contact us directly when making your next reservation and we will ensure you are placed in one of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at The Standard for two nights while traveling for a conference. Check-in was fairly simple and I was upgraded to a huge corner-room with a very large walk-in spa shower! I ordered breakfast the night before and it was delivered at the exact requested time. The food was great and I could tell that it was freshly prepared. I would recommend The Standard if you are looking for a boutique hotel experience with a minimalist feel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the great review and we hope you come back again for your next trip to Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Our group came for a birthday party. Our rooms were fantastic! Ask for the 9th floor. The service from the valet, to check in to dining service was excellent. We hung out in the Ping pong room for a few hours and that was so much fun! We ordered room service for breakfast and it was delicious and hot. There are a lot of fun things happening at this hotel. We are coming back next week for an 80s prom party.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing us as your hotel in Los Angeles! For all news of events happening in our hotels please visit www.standardculture.com and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Definitely a unique hotel. There was a shower/bath right in the middle of our room, with a light curtain and large mirror mounted on the wall opposite. Fitness room has a large mural of topless women on bikes. Rooftop pool has surrounding "pods" which are actually water beds. Rooftop parties nightly. Truly a swinger's paradise. Good breakfast in the yellow, retro diner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay here and we're glad you had fun during your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard Downtown LA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown LA

Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown LA 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Downtown LA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Downtown LA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.