We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fraternity house or hotel?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Downtown LA

Save Saved
You added The Standard Downtown LA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Standard Downtown LA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fraternity house or hotel?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here in January after new years. The 'basic' design of the hotel is not quite as charming as you would think. Everything looks like it is original. The grey carpet in the rooms, the white tile in the bathrooms etc... Looks like it needs a cleaning, but i dont think there is strong enough bleach.
If you are there to party, have fun, just keep your shoes on

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Sorry to hear that you're stay here was less than satisfactory. Our bathroom tiles are actually grey, not white, and I can reassure you that our housekeeping staff take their responsibilities very seriously and the rooms are cleaned thoroughly! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    280
    138
    81
    109
See reviews for
33
217
77
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I checked into the hotel on a Monday evening and had to switch rooms three times due to the loud music and thumbing bass that permeated through the walls and windows. I finally settled into a room on the 8th floor (814) but it was not until the hotel turned off the music at 1:30 AM that I was able to fall asleep. The rooms themselves are very sparse with only a mattress on a carpeted platform, and single plastic chair. The room lack a closet and even a box of tissue. Ironically they contain a pair of ear plugs. In addition the entire property looks worn and in need of a makeover.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We're so sorry to hear you had a disturbed nights sleep during your stay here. Please note that we do have 'corporate floors' so feel free to contact us directly when making your next reservation and we will ensure you are placed in one of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at The Standard for two nights while traveling for a conference. Check-in was fairly simple and I was upgraded to a huge corner-room with a very large walk-in spa shower! I ordered breakfast the night before and it was delivered at the exact requested time. The food was great and I could tell that it was freshly prepared. I would recommend The Standard if you are looking for a boutique hotel experience with a minimalist feel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the great review and we hope you come back again for your next trip to Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Our group came for a birthday party. Our rooms were fantastic! Ask for the 9th floor. The service from the valet, to check in to dining service was excellent. We hung out in the Ping pong room for a few hours and that was so much fun! We ordered room service for breakfast and it was delicious and hot. There are a lot of fun things happening at this hotel. We are coming back next week for an 80s prom party.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing us as your hotel in Los Angeles! For all news of events happening in our hotels please visit www.standardculture.com and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Definitely a unique hotel. There was a shower/bath right in the middle of our room, with a light curtain and large mirror mounted on the wall opposite. Fitness room has a large mural of topless women on bikes. Rooftop pool has surrounding "pods" which are actually water beds. Rooftop parties nightly. Truly a swinger's paradise. Good breakfast in the yellow, retro diner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay here and we're glad you had fun during your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Central is a relative term in LA due to its size, but all of the metro lines and easily located from the hotels location where ever you wish to travel.

The hotel very much has an LA feel, with it being very minimalist and stripped back, which can cause the initial reaction to be that you are being cheated out of something. The restaurant in the hotel is open 24hrs and produces excellent food, though there are several great restaurants only a short walk away including Industrial, Engine 51 (located in an old fire house) and LA live with a number of eateries is only a 20 min walk away.

The best feature of this hotel is the roof top pool and bar, great venue for a drink in the middle of the day or as a night spot with views across Downtown.

Would definitely chose this hotel if I was in LA again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and we hope you come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Calling this hotel cool doesn't do it justice. Cool is for amateurs, this hotel is professional grade partying within the concrete jungle of downtown LA. A simply gorgeous rooftop pool is flanked by an arsenal of attendants who are waiting to at your whim to whisk your wishes to fruition without an ounce of effort expended or a finger lifted by your at body laying in total peace. The rooms are comfortable, although i recommend spending a little extra for the larger sized suites. Book a room on any saturday night during the summer and you are guaranteed to have your day's and night's entertainment already figured out for you all in house of course.

Room Tip: Get a mid level suite or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review and we hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard Downtown LA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown LA

Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown LA 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Standard Downtown LA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Downtown LA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.