We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Kinky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Downtown LA

Save Saved
You added The Standard Downtown LA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Standard Downtown LA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Retro Kinky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Definitely a unique hotel. There was a shower/bath right in the middle of our room, with a light curtain and large mirror mounted on the wall opposite. Fitness room has a large mural of topless women on bikes. Rooftop pool has surrounding "pods" which are actually water beds. Rooftop parties nightly. Truly a swinger's paradise. Good breakfast in the yellow, retro diner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay here and we're glad you had fun during your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    265
    131
    77
    104
See reviews for
30
210
75
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Central is a relative term in LA due to its size, but all of the metro lines and easily located from the hotels location where ever you wish to travel.

The hotel very much has an LA feel, with it being very minimalist and stripped back, which can cause the initial reaction to be that you are being cheated out of something. The restaurant in the hotel is open 24hrs and produces excellent food, though there are several great restaurants only a short walk away including Industrial, Engine 51 (located in an old fire house) and LA live with a number of eateries is only a 20 min walk away.

The best feature of this hotel is the roof top pool and bar, great venue for a drink in the middle of the day or as a night spot with views across Downtown.

Would definitely chose this hotel if I was in LA again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and we hope you come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Calling this hotel cool doesn't do it justice. Cool is for amateurs, this hotel is professional grade partying within the concrete jungle of downtown LA. A simply gorgeous rooftop pool is flanked by an arsenal of attendants who are waiting to at your whim to whisk your wishes to fruition without an ounce of effort expended or a finger lifted by your at body laying in total peace. The rooms are comfortable, although i recommend spending a little extra for the larger sized suites. Book a room on any saturday night during the summer and you are guaranteed to have your day's and night's entertainment already figured out for you all in house of course.

Room Tip: Get a mid level suite or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review and we hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This place was funky, fun, hip and happening and it was fun for a day to pretend I was all those things (although the truth us that I am not). Eating sliders on the rooftop and seeing the amazing view was certainly a great experience and we found the beds very comfortable (my older teenage children slept through their alarm). Probably not the best place for younger families and I was surprised to find no shower cap provided and no extra pillows for the bed (three pillows on a bed for two people so we had to fight over who got the extra pillow). Front desk staff were helpful with a map to find our way to the Staples Centre but maybe this is not a place to suit everyone.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Wendy,
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do offer extra pillows which are in the wardrobe but should you need anything when you are staying with us again, please contact housekeeping and they will bring you everything you need!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Standard, Downtown L.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wow. This hotel was so hip it bordered on bizarre,. The room had a carpeted platform with two mattresses on it instead of beds. No box springs, no frame - just lumpy mattresses on the carpet. No furniture in the room whatsoever except for one plastic chair.

The room had no coffee maker ... but it did have a $130 bottle of Belvedere vodka available in the minibar in case I wanted a drink.

We learned on December 31 (the day after we checked in) that this hotel hosts the biggest New Year's Eve party in LA. We realized the sheer magnitude when we returned from dinner and found a line of heavy-duty partiers waiting to get into the hotel that wrapped around the building - and searchlights sweeping the skies from our parking lot.

They didn't mention this fact when we booked our rooms, or when we checked in. They removed all the furniture from the hotel lobby - then set up an enormous DJ stage, lights, searchlights, speakers the size of Greyhound buses - and they blasted incredibly loud music throughout the hotel all night long. Patrons partied in the hallways and in the guest rooms until dawn. The party noise reached its apex at 2:00AM PT, when the DJs screaming announcements to his huge crowd 'get louder" were ringing through every guest room in the place.

We were in town for the Rose Bowl Game - when we left early on Jan 1 for the Rose Parade (5:30AM) the elevators were still filled with young people in various stages of intoxication, riding the elevators up and down for fun. We enjoyed interacting in the elevator at 5:30AM with a couple that was making out for all 8 floors, as well as a young man strung out on crystal meth who kept telling us "not to look at his eyes". All the elevators were full of partiers as we were leaving for Pasadena at 5:30AM --- and they were all still partying from the previous day.

The guest rooms near us had room parties all night, but their noise paled compared to the DJ blasting music and announcements anyway. Sleep was out of the question.

The hotel restaurant was a part of the epic New Year's Eve party from the night before and was utterly trashed, as was the rest of the hotel - all of it.

I really do love to party ... but this was way out of control, and we were very disappointed that the hotel did not warn us or find a way to segregate those is us what were going to attend the bowl game from this insane hotel-wide party.

I lived in a big fraternity house in college - but our most ambitious parties with live bands were calm compared to the Armageddon at The Standard. I thought we trashed our digs in college during parties - but The Standard impressed me as being far worse.

Outside of the insane party, the hotel restaurant was actually very nice - great service and delicious food, and very welcoming. The valets were attentive and helpful. The bathrooms in the gust rooms were weird, but functional - compete with the glass-walled walk-in shower. The hotel has a very cool rooftop bar as well with a salt water swimming pool.

Bottom line - fun place to party. Absolutely terrible place to sleep - the worst possible choice if you want any rest at all. Party here. Then sleep somewhere else.

Room Tip: Pick a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Dave - we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We did try to make sure everyone was aware of the New Years Eve party that was happening in the hotel and the majority of our guests were attending the event. It was a special occasion and not something that happens all the time! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the restaurant and our new Chef is in the process of launching some exciting new menus!
Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Standard isn't your standard hotel, they go above and beyond. The hotel was very modern, had a 24 hr restaurant, a game room, and a roof top party. It is in a very convenient location and easy to get to from the LAX airport. We just took a fly away bus for $7 each to union station and from there took the metro to 7th st./Metro Station. The hotel is literally 2 blocks away from the station. Being close to the station was great in that we could use the metro and the bus to see Hollywood, Beverly Hills, and Rodeo Drive. The hotel also reserved a star line double decker bus to see the the major attractions including Santa Monica beach. Lastly the front desk was super friendly (especially Rod and Jessica). They both took the time in making phone calls, booking us reservations, and giving us their take on the city. My uncle was visiting from overseas and he was very impressed with their hospitality #thestandardrocks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
It sounds like you had a great time and thank you so much for the review. Please do come and stay with us again the next time you are in Downtown Los Angeles! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Really liked the room, as minimalist as it is. While there are no drawers, there's plenty of shelves and closet space in which to put clothes. Think of it as having less places to lose your stuff before checking out. Loved the spacious glass shower. Amazing.Staff was very helpful and professional. The main restaurant was pleasant and the food was excellent. I didn't try Spin upstairs though; I'm antisocial. But I understand it's fun.
Only problem was a corporation across the street decided to share their Christmas party with an entire four block radius. The noise was incredible until 11 PM but, with the help of earplugs thoughtfully provided by the hotel, I was able to sleep. I will certainly return if I have to do business in this area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Joyce - thanks so much for the review and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Downtown Los Angeles and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard Downtown LA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown LA

Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown LA 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Downtown LA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Downtown LA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.