We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, not recommended for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Downtown LA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard Downtown LA to your Saves list
The Standard Downtown LA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 nts, get 10% off!
Ranked #107 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
jayfeezy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun, not recommended for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Come here in May for a Graphic Designer Conference in the LA Convention Center. The walk from the conference was about 10 minutes which wasn't bad at all. There was an awesome bar at the top of the roof with a great bar and an even more awesome view - it was a great opportunity to mingle with other conference goers and networking. There was also a ping pong bar in the 2nd floor which was a lot of fun. So in a nutshell, it was a great place to party. Biggest complaint is that the rooms had NO WALLS FOR THE SHOWER. The bathroom had its seprate area, but there is no privacy for shower. Meaning if you're in my situation where it was 6 guys sharing the suite (which was spacious and comfy btw), it gets a little awkward. But the atmosphere was really cool and fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for choosing us for your stay in Downtown Los Angeles! We're glad you had fun and got to experience our ping-pong club, SPiN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    291
    141
    85
    113
See reviews for
37
226
82
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The room was situated within walking distance to the Staples Center and the conference center (10-15 minutes). There were many restaurants in the area. There are also lots of buses and cabs in the vicinity of the hotel. The room was ultra contemporary. It was clean, quiet and comfortable and well decorated. There was a very long built in desk in front of the window area. The bed was on a very low platform. Not the traditional bed. The only thing that struck me as odd was that the bathroom area was all glass (no walls) and a person in the room area had full view of the shower activities. I do not know if all the rooms in the hotel are like this. Had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I would give this hotel a great review if it wasn't in downtown LA. The only real issue with the room itself was that it was built incredibly cheap. Cheap carpet, furniture, fixtures, nothing on the walls except for the wallpaper that covers one wall, no storage, etc. They just have everything sitting out which granted, is modern, but calling everything modern in this place is just falsifying the cheap way it was constructed.

The MAJOR problem is that you will be dealing with a ton of stuck-up, trashy, downtown LA locals who think they are movie stars. You will consistently see coke and pills being taken by the locals in the bathroom on the first floor and the one on the roof. The staff makes no effort towards catering more towards guests paying $400/night over the egotistical locals who pay at the door to get in for the day. They treat the roof-top like a night club so locals come in on a regular basis. No, none of this is an exagreation. I actually saw locals snorting coke off the back of the men's toilet on the roof. And if you dress normally, i.e. nice jeans, leather dress shoes, and a button-up or polo (for men obviously) you will be judged by these local people who think you're out of the ordinary not dressed in their 20 year old boots, cuffed jorts, a tank top, oversized glasses without lenses, and to top it all off a flannel tied around the waste the way you used to during 3rd grade recess is a common fad out there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy Downtown Los Angeles. This is an incredibly exciting time for the city with many award winning bars and restaurants in the area. We do have 24 hour guest relations agents in the hotel to ensure our guests are well taken care of so please do contact one immediately if you see anything happening we should know about. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I’ll make it quick:
best bed in the world, most friendly and helpful people at the front desk, really enjoyed the pool, perfect sense of minimalism throughout the hotel, cool guy with trash-stache at the biergarten.

Only cons: A) We arrived on a saturday night and the hotel rooms where partying so hard we had to sleep with earplugs. But this is our fault – it’s a partyhotel.
B) I wish I could have shot a quick innocent test at the hotel since I had a complete team and models from a job over there but the PR said no.

But it doesn’t matter – on our next LA-shoot, I’ll have our production book everyone in this hotel! I loved it.

Ben
www.benbernschneider.com

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Standard, Downtown L.A for your visit to Los Angeles! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The room was clean and very empty. There was a long desk along the windows to put your stuff on, but no bed end tables. The bed is on a very low platform, only a few inches above the floor. Had to put my water glass on the rug. There was a flat screen TV. The bathroom wasn't anything special, weird shelves to put things on. The shower head seemed clogged, pressure was just okay. The air conditioning was quiet and worked well. Free wifi.

Was awoken in the morning hours when the sun came up. When it heated up the metal frame of the windows it constantly creaked and cracked. Sounded like pebbles being thrown at the windows. This went on for hours, couldn't sleep. Tried to open the window and could still hear it.

My friend's bathroom had some leaking tube coming out of the ceiling. The front desk said they would send maintenance, but they never did and whatever the liquid was, eventually puddled on the floor, gross.

Room Tip: Lower floors may be quieter, the club is on the roof. Beds are very low to the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Jason and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't sleep well during your stay and that your friend experienced some issues with the bathroom. Please do contact our Engineering department when staying in house so they can quickly rectify any issues. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The pool and the rooftop bar are really nice and cool. The rooms could be better, there are no privacy at all between the bathroom and the room, that is not well cleaned. The staff is nice. I love the location. Would go back because of the location and the pool.

Room Tip: get a huge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Sorry to hear you experienced some issues during your stay and we are looking into this. Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Downtown Los Angeles and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel in general has a grimey/dirty feel to it (just like down town LA) I was not impressed with the overall quality of the rooms cleanliness either. For a hotel of its popularity & price I was very disappointed. The front desk service was ok since they did give me another room the next day because my original suite must have been a party room because it was kinda filthy (the walls had dirty hand prints & the sheets seemed old) & stunk like cigaretts. The staff were friendly & the valet guys were really cool & overall I did enjoy my stay, but I'm just being critical since this is a review. I've just stayed in much better hotels for the same price but than again this is LA so nothing's really cheap. Would I stay there again? NO.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Enzo and thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear that the hotel wasn't to your liking but glad that you found our team warm and welcoming. Thanks for trying us during your stay in Downtown L.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard Downtown LA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown LA

Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown LA 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Downtown LA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Downtown LA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.