We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPiN-ing Rooftops!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Downtown LA

Save Saved
You added The Standard Downtown LA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Standard Downtown LA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“SPiN-ing Rooftops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Trying to find a decent place to celebrate a birthday in LA is hard task but someone's got to do it. I spent time researching places to celebrate my friend's birthday but found through UrbanDaddy regarding SPiN. I remembered watching Project Runway and I was really thrilled that they opened one at the Standard.

I actually wanted to kill 2 birds with 1 stone, so based on my research and phone calls to the awesome people at the Standard; my friends and I decided to go to SPiN first and then if we had time go up to the Rooftop.

Standard's website was really easy to navigate. I contacted the information on the Website for SPiN and the Rooftop/Standard. It brought me to Emily and Nicole.

SPiN: Emily is the Maitre'D of SPiN and she helped me with making reservations. She was really nice even if we were late about 30 minutes. I had the reservations for 2 hours but only ended up using 1 hour of playing Ping Pong. I think 1 hour was enough since most of my friends were ready to leave and 2 of them were playing Billiards downstairs in the lobby. The price of drinks was reasonable and our Ping Pong balls were replenished every time we ran out (which was pretty quick since we all were bad at it).

Lobby of Standard:The Lobby was very modern. For some reason, it felt like a playground for young adults. There was a billiard table, a ping pong table, and foosball table. I wonder if they had a air hockey table I would’ve loved that!

Rooftop: Nicole from reservations was very helpful. She was very informative regarding the Rooftop and especially provided more information than was needed esp. about the pool parties during the summer weekends (must go next time :D). Unfortunately, the hotel doesn’t provide reservations for tables or what not but the promoters do. In addition, unlike some other establishments there is a $20 cover for the whole night. Pfft. why not change it where you can get it in for free before 10:30? I guess I can’t complain since I did get in for free since we came so late. The music was good and the crowd was good. It’s downtown and not a major Hollywood crowd, but still has the LA Vibe. The highlight of the night was the Hershey kisses waterbeds next to the pool. Could sleep in that all day!

Overall would come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for the terrific review and our team will be delighted that you were so happy with the service you received. Do come back again soon and enjoy one of our fantastic pool parties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    266
    133
    82
    103
See reviews for
29
201
74
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was with a few friends on Saturday night and we hit up the Standard. The line to the roof top bar was a bit long so we played ping pong at Spin before going upstairs. Spin is very nice, I've never played cosmic ping pong before and didn't realize it was so fun. They also had some good beer on tap too. After a while we made our way up to the bar, it's a great place to hang out on a summer night. The pool looks amazing even though no swimming is allowed. The waterbeds are very fun to say the least. I think this is the only place in DTLA that charges cover, but I think it's definitely worth it and I'll be back again one of these days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Reggie and thanks for the review.
Firstly, we delighted to hear that you had such a good time at the hotel and got to experience SPiN - our awesome ping-pong club!
The night you came, we had just finished having our pool resurfaced and so we had to wait until it was safe for our guests to swim in. We absolutely encourage people to swim in it, so next time you visit, jump on in!
Finally, we don't always charge a cover - sometimes we have promoters hosting events on the roof - but otherwise there is no charge to get to the roof.
Come back again soon Reggie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The standard rooftop lounge/bar has amazing drinks, good music, and an cool crowd. The bartenders were friendly and definitely took care of us. Although I did not stay at the hotel, the bar/lounge is a great place to hang out with friends. We went on a Wednesday night and there was still a good crowd.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We're really glad you enjoyed your experience with us - hopefully next time you can make a night of it with a stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I'm not a huge fan of the low beds and spartan furnishings but the room was clean and in my case quiet. I enjoyed the roof top bar too. Staff was friendly and helpful. Walking distance to Staples Center and LA convention center. And thank you management for clearing up a parking charge ! Much appreciated.

Room Tip: rooms not below the dance floor (top floor roof)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Spartan futuristic rooms in a 60's style hotel. No pictures anywhere in fhe room made it feel small eventhough there is a huge glass seethrough wall that divides theshower and main room. It is an exhibitionists dream. There is a mattress on a raised floor platform. The mattress was either old or low quality. The standard tries to be different bug it was different for the wrong reasons. Quality would be the right standard rather than wierd. Very spendy for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the review and I'm sorry to hear that our minimalist decor wasn't to your taste. Our rooms start at 300 sq ft and go up to over 1000 sq ft and offer lots of space for our guests. Next time you stay, please feel free to contact us directly and we can help direct you to a room category that will offer you a more spacious feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My stay at The Standard couldnt have been better. The staff is amazing and friendly and the restaurants are great. The room is very stark - platform bed and a cool, minimal counter/desk combo. The only thing I found strange is that the wall between the bathroom and bedroom is glass. And I found the biergarten on the roof totally cheesy - but I would go back. Great value for the room. And a good location if you have to be downtown or Vernon area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Standard, Downtown L.A and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time, don't forget to check out SPiN, our fun ping-pong club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at The Standard, Downtown L.A and we had a terrific time. From the amazing staff who couldn't do enough to help and tell us what to see, to the spacious rooms and terrific food in the restaurant, the whole place was fantastic.
Whilst the pool area is 'the' place to be seen, I loved the Biergarten - a quieter, calmer area of the roof. we also had fun at the ping-pong club called Spin.
Downtown LA is a great place to stay as well - you can walk around with ease and the subway provides cheap transportation without having to stress about L.A traffic. Lots of great bars and restaurants too.
Can't wait to go back the next time I'm in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Great place to be and the subway system is cheap & under used and a great way to get around LA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at The Standard Downtown LA, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the review - we're thrilled to hear you had such a good stay with us. DTLA is such a great part of this city and well worth exploring. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard Downtown LA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Downtown LA

Address: 550 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#106 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Downtown LA 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Los Angeles, California luxury boutique hotel located near the LA Convention Center. This business hotel features 207 guest rooms & suites, event space, rooftop bar and Biergarten, 24 hour restaurant & rooftop pool. The newest addition to the hotel is SPiN - a ping-pong club founded by Susan Sarandon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tablet Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Downtown LA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Downtown La Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Hotel Los Angeles
Standard Downtown La Los Angeles
Standard Hotel La
Standard Downtown La Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Downtown LA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.