We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hidden gem; family friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brentwood Inn

Best prices from these 4 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Brentwood Inn to your Saves list
The Brentwood Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12200 W. Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
West Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem; family friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We happened upon this spot because I had made a reservation at a motel in Brentwood, CA which we later learned is somewhere around San Francisco!! Talk about an error! Friends recommended The Brentwood Inn and we were REALLY lucky to get in. It's a delight and even though we lived in Santa Monica for a couple of years, we never spied this place. The employees are all so helpful and friendly; while the rooms are really small, they are well outfitted and it's easy to sit outside on a nice day (most days)! Breakfast is certainly not outstanding but plenty to keep the wolf from the door and we couldn't have been more pleased. Give it a try if you're in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the south end away from the major road
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate that they use environmentally friendly products and encourage guests to become educated about such practices
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    87
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
137
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Brentwood Inn throws in parking,wifi and breakfast with their v good value nightly rate, unheard of in LA! The rooms are comfortable and pleasantly appointed. Showers only no baths.
No movie channels on the TV. Good beds but awful lumpy pillows. In my room there was a problem with the hot water and I started my day with a stone cold shower! Still for $189 plus tax for a night in Brentwood it wasn't the end of the world. STaff on desk very helpful and friendly.
I would come again and next time I will request a room with no room on the floor above me

Room Tip: don't get a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed in this motel a couple of times when visiting LA. Always found the accommodation clean and comfortable. The reception staff are very helpful, and friendly. The breakfast is simple but adequate and free parking a bonus. Location is also pretty good. Happy to recommend :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This is the best motel we stayed on ever! Just as taken out of an movie. Nice surrounding and great athmosphare, the staff was friendly and helpful. Small but beutiful rooms.
Stay here and you will never regret!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were trying to stay near our son, who lives in West LA, close to Santa Monica. If that's your area, this will be hard to beat. It is a pleasant hotel, and very different from the norm. You are getting a pretty reasonable price for the value.
It is basically a redone motel, but they've done a nice job of it. The cross streets are a bit busy, so there is some traffic noise at night. If you are approaching from the east on Sunset (as we did and as most of you will since that is where the I-405 freeway is), you might want to just turn left into the lot, but it really isn't a lawful turn so you may end up wandering the neighborhood a bit while you try to approach it from the west.
The parking is right in front of the rooms, as in an old motor hotel. Its convenient, and free. (Try that downtown!)
The room was comfortable, albeit the bathroom was quite quirky and had fixtures that seemed to date from circa 1965. It even included a medicine cabinent in the wall, just like at home, along with the quite small shower that I estimated as being 2 x 3. It was done in very old-fashioned white tiles. Nice, but reminded me of my youth. Lots of tight turns/ corners. Too late now, but the architect could have used the bathroom space much better. Don't even think of using this bath room if you are large sized, much less disabled.
Comfortable furnishings, and a very nice patio on which to enjoy your included breakfast, although again being next to Sunset Blvd means you'll hear the traffic. The pastries and fruit were above average for an included continental breakfast.
The staff really did shine. They were very helpful and patient explaining about local restaurants and places to go.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: I would not stay in the rooms that back onto Kenter as they would get noise from both there and Suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I picked this hotel because of the location, but was a little leery because it was only rated 2-star. I was pleasantly surprised! I had such a nice expereience, and would definitely come back again. I've nevere written a review before, but I felt so good about this stay, I think they deserve a rave review.
It obviously used to be a motel, but everthing has been completely renovated to make it an upscale boutique hotel. There was NONE of the dingy, rundown feeling I was afraid of.
My room was wall-to-wall with the reception, but I didn't hear a thing. The room was simply and tastefully decorated, everything was very new. It looked like a room out of a designer magazine, but with a personal touch. My room had a queensize bed, lofty ceiling with beams and a hardwood floor. Very light and fresh. The bathroom was well-designed, new and clean - like the whole room.
There was a small fridge filled with bottled water, a coffee machine, hairdryer, flat-screen tv, phone in the room. The bathroom was stocked with quality AVIDA soap, shampoo etc.
The service was excellent with all staff at the front desk professiional, friendly and helpful.
The good cookies in the afternoon seemed to be home made. Breakfast was simple but fine: coffee or tea (good selection of quality teas), milk and juice, big muffins and danishes, different flavors of instant porridge, fresh apples and bananas, yoghurt.
The breakfast is self-serve right in the reception, with outdoor seating on the patio outside. The patio is simple but cute with a stone wall with running water. It was fairly noisy out there because of the traffic, which reminded me how quiet it was in my room.
The hotel is walking distance to KATSUYA Japanese restaurant, 11777 San Vicente Blvd, and it took about 20 minutes. In that area there are several good restaurants, including this one and another one on San Vicente called SUGARFISH (sushi) 11640 W. San Vicente Blvd. The houses and yards in the area are beautiful.The Brentwood area is safe. There were several people out walking or jogging. I only stayed one night, but would have like to explore the area more. I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room wall-to-wall with reception. Queensize- bed, lofty white ceiling with beams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved the upscale residential neighborhood and simple but tasteful decor of this small inn. The management was friendly and accommodating. Parking is in a central courtyard surrounded by the rooms. This is a great place to use as home base while exploring Los Angeles and Santa Monica. Very close to the Getty Center. Good restaurants nearby. We strongly recommend this place for those who want convenient access to the city, but who like a nice residential area to return to at the end do the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brentwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brentwood Inn

Address: 12200 W. Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Brentwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, convenience and extraordinary value: we have it all. Our tastefully decorated rooms are all non-smoking and pet-free, and come equipped with flat-panel LCD TVs and high-speed internet access. Your room rate includes free parking, continental breakfast and freshly-baked cookies every afternoon. Our location in Brentwood is conveniently close to restaurants in Brentwood Village, shopping in Beverly Hills and Santa Monica and only minutes from UCLA and the world-famous Getty Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Brentwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brentwood Hotel Los Angeles
Brentwood Hotel Los Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brentwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.